Help needed on a small green care farm working with children/youth and animals in Gjøvik, Norway



Favourited 141 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    *️️️*️️️*️️️*️️️ Updated 13/08/2019 ****
    There is an opening for a workawayer from now on and forward.

    I am a woman who runs a small farm in the countryside. On the farm there are horses, sheep, hens/chickens and some small animals - and two dogs.

    I work with children/adolecents visiting the farm and they stay for the weekends and holidays. There are also children from the neighbourhood visiting. You must be comfortable working alongside children/youth. They are here on holiday and I/we do some actvities with them. Everything from working on the farm, playing cards and watching films - and having a rest. My main work is with them, but as usual all the animals and chores on the farm needs to be done. We will either do them togheter or separetely. Hope you like to work independantly.

    There will be chores like:
    *️️️️️️️️ go in the forest to look for the sheep
    *️️️️️️️️ putting up/taking down fences
    *️️️️️️️ taking away grass and do wood in the forest
    *️ gardening/mowing
    *️ picking berries/fruit, making jam
    *️️️️️️️️ feeding/watering horses and other stuff with horses
    *️ taking care of other animals
    *️️️️️️️️ painting of fences
    *️️️️️️️️ being with the children
    *️️️️️️️️ cooking, like making breakfast/lunch/dinner
    *️ some help in the house
    *️ painting walls inside the house
    and whatever comes up.
    On a farm like this it's always something to do for everybody and things of interest for most people.

    There are not a lot of other people around. My parents live nearby and my brothers with their families. The nearest city is 7km away and there are busses. You will have a bed either in my living-room or a separat bedroom and you will share bathroom with the others in the house. You will be a part of the family.

    Some farm experience or work with animals would be appreciated. You need to be able to work independantly once given a task. And have good English language. You must love the outdoors and like to work with your body.

    I need someone who is open minded and respectful and are willing to help where ever they can. On a farm like this it's always something to do. Worktime is different during the day, but you will have plenty of time off.

    Hope to hear from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be a part of the familiy. You will learn about the normal day in a family on a small farm in Norway. You will also learn about different animals and how they are kept. We will have some good time talking togheter around meals and hopefully learn about each others contries and dayli life.

  • Help


    I need general help caring for all the animals and different chores on the farm like; fencing, painting, mucking out, filling water, moving animals, some work in the forest moving fallen trees, washing and cleaning out in the stable and sheepshed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    norwegian - english

  • Accommodation


    You will have a room (maybe share room with another workawayer) inside my house and share bathroom with the family. We are not vegeterian/vegan.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Hours of help vary, some in morning, during the day, some in evening (Maximum 25 hours/week)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 564293393715