Help out around our environmentally conscious 2-acre property in the north valley in los Ranchos De Albuquerque, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    807

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We strive to make changes every day to reduce our use of fossil fuels. We believe that our lives are better by working together. We know that we must choose to be more effiecent, more healthy, less stressed and that cooperation is the key to a better life for humanity.

    I have managed a community oriented apartment complex in Albuquerque for 10 years. We have taught and hosted super Adobe workshops, Brewster workshops, solar and led workshops as well as permaculture workshops.

    We live on a 2 acre property behind a winery in the north valey in los Ranchos De Albuquerque. There is a quarter acre pond on the site. There are three feelings on the site. There are opportunities to connect with the other farm's we share tools and volunteer labor with.

    My name is Jesse and I have a day job at a local hand made chocolate and gelato factory. I am passionate about small business and believe we can make a bigger impact by changing our society by using business as a tool for good.

    I love cycleing. I have a recumbent tricycle that is in the process of having an electric motor installed on it to become a hubrid human electric.

    I helped with a solar panel building workshop in Ghana.

    I am a musician.
    I want to make fun and educational videos.

    I have many projects and believe that they can for together and suport one another.

    I think flushing human waste down the drain with fresh water is wrong. We can do better, let's stop this. I would like to be a rep for a High end compost toilet system, biolete.

    WE USE HUMAURE METHODS. WE COMPOST HUMAN WASTE.

    I compost carboard. I build soil. I have a lot to share:) I love people.
    I love the planet.

    I am generous. We have 2 sons.
    There are 12 people that love on our farm (in planning and securing the property phase, not full scale farming)

    I have bought and sold several properties I have also lost a few. I am very resourceful and believe where there is a will there is a way.

    I know it's important to count my blessings and give thanks, show gratitude for life by making a positive difference on the planet.

    I intend to create and open a solar powered laundry mat with drop off wash and gold services. I intend to create micro grocerie stores in the university area and poor neighborhoods.

    I need help with some of the basic chores of life to free my time to do more planning and implementing. I need help hanging laundry in the line, folding and ironing clothes. Making meals and cleaning. Moving mulch. Loading and unloading things ( I have a back injury and even though I know how to do plumbing and building and maintenance I am less able to do things and need supporting to get things done).

    I am good at finding free things and have knowledge of how to build. I want to help start various cottage indusstries and use them to generate wealth for a good sized flock of folks. Recycled glass containers and drinking wares, tables benches and shelves made from reclaimed wood. Artistic coffee tables made from old discarded toys and lumber, might fixtures and room deciders and privacy screens made from hard ware and led lightning and recycled glass.

    I have tools and space and creativity. I need more helping hands.

    We have radiant heated space in our home. We need help clearing out a garage that will be our lodging space for our workaeayers. Initial lodging space is in the living room on a really nice air mattress or the couch or sleeping mats on the floor. soon we will have a private room:)

    WE HAVE A POND WITHA CANOE IN ALBUQUERQUE!

    Huge 100 year old barn.

    Loving dog, cool people, community, avtive, empowered people love here, we are visionaries and are making things hapen, we are inspiring our community.

    The property is right behind a winerythat had a open to the public tasting room and a private club that we can walk to from our door in 5 minutes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about how to build and tend a HUMAURE compost and toilet,

    Learn how to plan and install greywater systems.

    Learn about cooking from Zhenya.

    Learn about how I have secured and managed multiple properties with out capital.

    Learn about building with reclaimed materials.

    Learn about permaculture principals.

    Learn where to get good coffee.

    Learn about sharing and trust.

  • Help

    Help

    Laundry
    Cooking
    Composting
    Repairing chicken coop
    Cleaning
    Clearing
    Making things
    Editing videos

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a space in a heated garage that will be cleared with the help of the initial work awayer to set up a private room. It is large, has a window and will have a claw door tub and sink and compost toilet. It has a large closet. Shared kitchen with my family's and our house mates. The house is large and allready has 3 bathrooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    World longest tram in Albuquerque. Option to have free time staycations at our other properties. Boating on the pond. Visits to the winery. Los poblanos farm's. Hot springs an hour away. Toas gorge is incredible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 563434868319