Be part of the family, helping in our home and on our lifestyle farm in Whangarei, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/06/2019

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family with 2 children, age 10 and 4. We are situated on 17 acres surrounded by gardens, trees and stone walls. We have cows, sheep, and chickens and quite a large vege garden. Whangarei is only 10 minutes away by car. We are a Christian family and live by Christian values. One of our children has disabilities and is quite high needs, he is in school.We have two houses on our farm, the main house where the family stays and the cottage where my parents live.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to help the travellers learn English, cooking and involve them in tasks on a lifestyle farm. We would love them to be part of our family.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help with garden tasks at this time. Tasks also could include cleaning, doing activities with the children, baking, cooking dinner, feeding chickens, and that kind of thing. You are welcome to take weekends off if you are keen to travel during that time or stay at home and join in with the family. A positive, can-do attitude is a must. We appreciate someone who enjoys helping.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in our lovely cottage in a single room. It has two bedrooms. It has one bathroom, a laundry, kitchen, TV, internet and fireplace. It is very nice accommodation. It is in a very quiet area. There is also a sleepout which is sometimes used as alternative accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Whangarei is a very scenic area, 2 hours north of Auckland. It has a beautiful marina on the river visited by many international yachts. There are many beaches about half an hours drive away. The farmland is picturesque with dry stone walls. There would be opportunity to join in with community activities, going to the local farmers market, hiking, going to music evenings, meeting people in the neighbourhood.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 562999888782