Come help on our farm with 500 sheep, three guesthouses, horses, dog and cat in Western Iceland!

Country

Iceland

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are family of four; Valberg, Hanna and two sons, we are farmers and live in the West part of Iceland, close to Búðardalur. We have about 550 sheep, some horses, dog and cat. We also have three summerhouses that we rent out from May - September. Hanna is a teacher and works in the village four days a week. In May we have a lot of work, it is the lambing season and we need to prepare and take care of the accommodation. Therefore we need some help.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The lambing season is an amazing time. Over 900 lambs are born in 30 days. At this time it´s a very lively household at our place . Hanna´s and Valbergs´parents come to help as well as some other friends and family from time to time. Our guests (the tourists) are also welcome to visit the stables and many do. The nature is beautiful and we are living and working in the middle of it. All meals are provided and wage according to Icelandic union contracts.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in the accommodation, cleaning and preparing for guests, wash linen and be around to assist our guests if needed. Help with taking care of the sheep and lambs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our workawayer will have a private room in our house and have all meals with the family. We do not expect our workawayer to do our housekeeping for us but take part in the family household as one of us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is rural, quiet and surrounded by beautiful nature. Public transport is limited but within couple of hours drive there is a lot to see. Borgarfjörður, Snæfellsnes, Vestfirðir... and more. Nature, history, caves, hot springs, glaciers, ....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    10 - 17

Host ref number: 561911231184