Help around the house and with babysitting in Quintana Roo, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 189 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are no longer a Café for kids!!!!!!

    Before Covid, we had a little café for kids that turned into a summer camp, all of which was on our rooftop. When we realize the return to school was not available to everyone, that summer camp turned into a real little kindergarten. We ourselves have a 6 year old, Arami who is really happy with our decision. My partner, Marco has helped a lot with the transformation of the place. We are the type of people that when we say we are going to do this, it happens almost instantly. Which was the case for the café and now the school. At one point, our guest house was empty and so, we decided to move the kindergarden there. It was the perfect move. The kids have their own space, we got our space back. Everybody is happy!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Marco is from Austria and living here for over 22 years, my son was born here (Mexico), and I am born in France but lived in Montreal most of my life. We live in the « jungle » of Puerto Morelos surrounded by nature but still very close to everything and the beach. Many foreigners live in this part of the country which makes it very diverse and fun. There is still so much to do here. Still so much to create. And so much to learn from the locals whom are very warm and generous people.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    _ for this summer camp- we need people who speak or ENGLISH or SPANISH - From now on we will mainly welcome volunteers during the long holidays. During those periods we offer day camp and so our volunteers will help with the kids during the day. There will be lots of activities and playtime. Sometimes, we will also ask to house sit or petsit. We also live in the jungle on a good size land so there is always some cleaning to do, of the land.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Marco built a second palapa on our land a few years back and we never stop improving it. It has two levels. A big « loft » style bedroom on top. A fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and living area on ground level. It’s next to the main house. Fully independent. Now, this guest house has been transformed into a "educational space". However, there is still room to accomodate 1 or 2 volunteers, in the up stairs space.

    I wont necessarely cook for you every day but I will make sure you have enough food during the week to cook yourself minimum one meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The beach is close (about 13 min by car) but also other bigger towns, such as Playa del Carmen (40 min) and Cancun (30 min). Easy bus ride anywhere really. Because you will live in the school, you wont be able to be there during school hours, which means btw 9 and 2. Which means, either we give you work to do on the land on some days or those hours will be your free hours. And of course, you will have the space for you on weekends because there is no school.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 559959678369