Learn to live a self-sustainable life with us near Montcaret, France

Country

France

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we have a small goat farm with 13 goats. We make a little cheese for ourselves but usually our milk is sold to a neighbor who owns a cheese factory. We have about 10 hectares on which some corn and hay are grown for animal feed. We have dogs, and a large vegetable garden. People who would like to visit us would be accommodated in a caravan. The sanitary facilities are for the moment minimal. Chemical toilet and old-fashioned shower.The activities are milking goats and general maintenance of a small farm.

    l am from Wales so I can speak english we could accept single people or a couple .What is very important for us is for people to try and be in a good mood and enjoy what we are trying to do ,,,,,,,,

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am Welsh and my wife is French, we speak French and English. I have lived in France for 30 years and know this area of south west France especially well. We are very open to meeting people from different countries and sharing our experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    No previous experience in farm work is necessary. What we are looking for are people who enJoy the outdoors and working with animals. Daily life here consists of milking the goats twice a day, taking the goats out to pasture, collecting eggs from our 40 hens, tending to the vegetable garden and other farm activities.
    Our goal is to become self-sufficent from the farm. We already produce our own electricity with solar panels and water from the well. Anybody who is interested in spending time with us and would like to learn how to live this self-sustainable life is welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers will stay in a caravan. We are non-vegetarian and meals are included and always communal. Help with food preparation is always welcome and any new recipes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the heart of the wine region of south west France. 2km away is the closest train station with trains to Bordeaux just an hour away. The Dordogne river is 5 minutes cycle distance with canoeing, fishing and many châteaux dotted all over.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 559846642263