updated   Last minute

Spend time on the land in an organic food forest near Rome, South Lazio, Italy

  • Favourited 26 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    * * * * * * *

    Organic Food forest near Rome! South Lazio
    Hi everyone
    I'm Stefano, I was born in Rome in 1981, I lived 4 years in Berlin and since 2013 I have been taking care of 6 hectares of land, including an olive grove, an aromatic plantation a blackberry and raspberry plantation, and a lot of woodland, in Carpineto Romano, a town an hour south of Rome and 45 minutes from Sabaudia. In southern Lazio.

    I have traveled a bit and visited various ecovillages and farms in Europe and would like to gradually replicate these experiences with the help of a group of people. On the land which was abandoned for 20 years I am selecting the edible and usable essences creating a stripe of food forest between the olive grove and the forest. There are blackthorns, cornelians, hawthorn, dog rose, wild cherries, plums, walnuts, chestnuts, pear trees and apple trees and many aromatic herbs including thyme, mint and marrubio; all spontaneous and natural. All this needs to be made accessible to anyone interested in building a harmonious relationship with nature and living there by living this relationship.

    I only have a house in the village thirtyfive minutes walk from the land but I would like to create the conditions to live in the woods at least in the summer, starting to collect rainwater and create a way to sleep there but that's a long term project. Twice a month I go to Rome where I participate in the activities of the Forte Prenestino social centre and I would be happy to involve you! I speak Italian, German, English, Spanish and understand French! I am waiting for you.


    Metodi organici: Non uso alcun prodotto, tengo manto verde e nn lavoro la terra

    Certificazioni: Suolo e salute

    Progetti attuali: Fruits ,Permacultura,Herbs,Olives,Woodland,Building/maintenance,Vegetables

    Organic Food forest near Rome! Lazio del sud
    Ciao a tutte e tutti.
    Sono Stefano, sono nato a Roma nel 1981, ho vissuto 4 anni a Berlino e dal 2013 mi prendo cura di 6 ettari di terreno, tra cui un uliveto, una coltivazione di piante aromatiche una piantaggione di more e lamponi, e molto bosco, a Carpineto Romano, un paese un ora a sud di roma e a 45 minuti da Sabaudia, nel lazio del sud. Ho viaggiato un pò ed ho visitato vari ecovillaggi e farm in Europa e vorrei replicare gradualmente queste esperienze con l'aiuto di un gruppo di persone. In questi terreni abbandonati da 20 anni sto selezionando le essenze commestibili e utilizzabili creando una fascia di foresta alimentare tra l'uliveto e il bosco. Ci sono prugnoli, cornioli, biancospino, rosa canina, ciliege selvatiche, prugne, noci, castagne, peri e meli e molte aromatiche tra cui timo menta e marrubio; tutto spontaneo e naturale. Bisogna solo rendere accessibile tutto questo a chiunque sia interessato a costruire un rapporto armonico con la natura e ad abitare li vivendo di questo rapporto. Ho una casa in paese a trenta minuti di cammino dai terreni ma vorrei creare le condizioni per vivere nel bosco almeno in estate, cominciando a raccogliere l'acqua piovana e a creare un modo per dormire li ma questo é un proggetto a lungo termine. Due volte al mese vado a Roma dove partecipo alle attività del centro sociale Forte Prenestino e sarei felice di coinvolgervi! Parlo italiano, tedesco, inglese, spagnolo e capisco il francese! Vi aspetto!

    * * *

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers could learn all about the local flora and the plants in my fields and in the area, they can learn how to cook italian style they could as well get some italian while here...

  • Help

    Help

    I basically need help in weeding harvesting and processing berries, so alot of helping with the ho and reaping weeds but also haversting berries and nuts and olives (depending on the season), but also collecting and chop wood and fixing fences..

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    It happens almost spountaniously zhat we exchange language learning tips with helpers i had

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    i can offer only accomodation with a tent on the fields! I will provide tents or you can bring your own. We will have a small solar shower, we have full cookin equipement, a compost toilette, shelters from the sun and electicity for charging devices

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I m a kind openminded person hosting travellers since 5 years, using other platforms as well hosting friends of friends as well, travelletson camper or vans superwelcome! No machos fascits or intollerance admitted. Direct ban!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    As far as now i can offer water and a dry toilet outside, soon electricity

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes but we are sorrounded by a lot of feral and domestic animals.. we should discuss it a little bit carefully before i gor two cats here!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 557134722311

Feedback

Spend some quality time on our big small biodiverse food-forest in East Sicily, Italy
Help needed in our organic gardens and olive grove at beautiful Lake Garda, Italy