Young at Heart retired English couple with 5 dogs require help in the garden and adjoining land in Poitou Charentes, SW France

Country

France

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    285

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired, young at heart English couple living in Poitou Charentes, SW France, we are situated in the department of Vienne and our property lies on the banks of the River Vienne. We live in a three bedroomed pavillion with 5 dogs on 2 acres cultivated garden and the rest is an uncultivated field. Our dogs are all friendly and love people so you must be prepared for some wet sloppy greetings (from the dogs that is).

    We would like a single person or couple to come and help us in the garden and land. General gardening, tending veggie plots and weeding, digging, planting and mowing (we have two ride on mowers), maintenance of fencing and also we need some clearing done in our overgrown field. We would welcome you as part of our family and perhaps, if you cook, you can share some of your recipes with us.

    We have a heated swimming pool that is opened in the summer months and you would be free to use it whenever you like. There would probably be a car available for your use. All board and lodging provided for helper/s in exchange for your help. Local activities include, kayaking, cycling, walking and golf. Main city of Poitiers is 30 mins drive away and Montmorillon, a beautiful medieval city, is 20 minutes drive. The nearest airports are Poitiers and Limoges. We are 4.5 - 5 hours drive from the ports of Caen and le Harvre.

    So if you fancy coming to give us a hand in the garden, make a fuss of our dogs, share some recipes, eating al fresco on balmy summer evenings, dipping in our pool and sharing travel experiences and tales then why not come and stay with us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    France is a very diverse country with lots of history and places of interest. Although we live in a quiet rural village, there are train services to most places of interest. We are surrounded by beautiful countryside and numerous rivers.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening and also helping to clear and tidy up our overgrown field. General maintenance and maybe some cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helper/s will benefit from a twin bedded room and use of a modern bathroom in our comfortable villa set on the banks of the river Vienne. WiFi available and use of car depending on age and experience of driver/s

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local activities include, kayaking, walking, golf, bowling, bungee jumping, Valee des Singes, Serpent park, crocodile park, Futuroscope etc. There is a car available depending on age and experience of drivers. There is a train service in the local town about 10 minutes drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day five days per week


Host ref number: 555773845776