Come and help our family to look after our 30 happy huskies in Storslett, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 269 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3. I'm 42, my wife is 40 and we have one daughter who is 11 years old. Of course, there are the 30 happy huskies. We use our dogs for long distance racing during the winter. We are based above the Arctic circle, outside of a small town called Storslett. Our house is about 12 km from the town center, situated in a Reisa valley, which runs to the border with Finland. We spend most of our time outside with the dogs, training and going for trips up in the mountains.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will experience the Norwegian culture and learn about the north Norwegian way to live.

  • Help

    Help

    There is a lot to do at this kennel, and it changes depending on the season. The only exception is general dog care, like feeding and cleaning. We do handle a lot of raw meat which should be considered when applying.

    In summer, we always have a lot of maintenance work to do, mainly in the dog yard. Young dogs also need to be socialised. With a pack this size, it's important to keep in contact with the dogs to to give them the care they deserve. During late summer and autumn when it cools down, we begin training the dogs again with ATVs or wagons.

    In winter, there is a lot of training to be done with the dogs. With such an active, energetic breed, the dogs need to run almost every day. Because of this, we spend most of our time outside with the dogs. Work hours will vary depending on the day as we are working with animals. But although some days may be longer or shorter, it is very rewarding.

    We are mainly looking for someone who loves animals, Prior mushing experience isn't necessary, we can teach you. However, as we spend so much time with the dogs, it's important to actively be interested in them. We also continue our training every day, regardless of rain, snow, darkness or any sort of weather. So someone who is mentally prepared to brave the elements is ideal!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is inside the main house in a separate room during winter. Otherwise there is a caravan provided in the warmer months to stay in. The travellers have their meals with us and will be included in the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lot to do in the aria. There is good place to go skiing, and mountain climbing. There are miles with ski trails. There is good possibility to fish in the river, and lakes. If you like the urban life there is good conetion with public transport to Tromso, or Alta. In those cities there, are all cind of offers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 553114434511