Join us at a sustainable-living hobby farm in Lund BC, Canada



Favourited 36 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a family of 3 with a cat who tend to be more home-bodies because of all our projects. Three years ago we moved to a 5 acre plot with an extensive garden on the coast just outside the most beautiful city in BC. We love gardening and are slowly renovating areas of our house bit by bit. It would be great to have some help from people who would like the opportunity to participate in organic year-round gardening a variety of herbs and vegetables or general property maintenance like chopping wood and brush trimming. I do all sorts of construction and would be happy to teach anyone interested in learning a particular trade or just general home maintenance skills. We would prefer help from workawayers that do have trade skill sets (construction or farming) so they can be more independent. Me and my mom are dedicated volunteers in the community and our family friend who lives with us helps with all our varied activities. We all like to hike and take short day trips around Powell River to enjoy the beach or do some kayaking.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in a beautiful area approx. 4 minutes drive from the resort village of Lund where there is water taxi access to several islands in the area for recreation. We are only minutes from several access points to the Sunshine coast trail and the longest hut to hut hiking trail in BC. We have tents, backpacks and sleeping bags that could be borrowed. The area of Powell River has most outdoor recreation opportunities such as climbing, hiking, scuba diving and mountain biking. There are tons of community events here for those interested in farmers markets, bush craft skills, natural craft hobbies etc. I have been in the construction business for 11 years and would be happy to pass on my knowledge to anyone interested in being more well rounded and self sufficient in that regard. There is an extensive tool collection for anyone interested in working on their own crafts or hobbies.

  • Help


    We have a vast array of interests and projects and are looking for assistance from others that like varied work and can be fairly independent. We have a large stack of logs to cut/chop/stack for firewood so it would be useful to have someone with chainsaw experience. Building/framing experience is a real asset, as is working with different power tools. Im also developing a large herb garden because I'm interested in learning more about using herbs in my daily life as tea/medicine. We have a lot of general maintenance work such as painting, weed eating and hedge trimming.

    We are currently looking to insulate and put up a tongue and groove wood ceiling in our main floor which will need to be stained. We are also trying to grow a decent size winter veggie garden in our large greenhouse and would love some insight and inspiration from any one that could help with setting up a greenhouse/garden watering system. We will be looking to start building our custom kitchen for 2022 and would love help from anyone with experience cabinet making. I would like to re-slope our gutters on our house and finish off the rain water harvesting system that I've started with IBC totes for anyone that doesn't mind ladders and heights. Spring 2022 I would like to try my hand at raising muscovy ducks but I need alot of help and prep work done first.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have two recently renovated rooms available (approx. 8 x 14ft ) in our 2-level, approx. 2000 sq ft house with beautiful views or we have a few outdoor buildings that could be easily retrofitted into bedrooms if you prefer more privacy. This is a shared living accommodation with a common kitchen and living area. We do have wifi on non-cloudy days. We tend to barbecue often as we have very spacious decks around our house. The property is incredibly unique and there are extensive areas to get away by yourself including a gazebo with a view of the ocean, a small trail and many tenting areas. There are laundry facilities on the premises and 2 shared washroom facilities. I do the majority of cooking but love to try food from other cultures so it would be great to have help cooking some dinners. We eat dinner together as a family everyday and we enjoy that time together. We are all meat eaters but have a very large vegetable garden on the property. There is lots of wildlife and most likely you will see eagles and deer every day as well as black bears on the odd occasion.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live approximately 30-40 minutes outside of the main city and there is limited bus traffic. My mom goes into town 5 out of 7 days of the week if you would like a ride and my schedule is very varied as I am self-employed....I spend almost 50% of my time at home currently as its garden season but would be happy to drive/escort you around the area on occasion if you have particular activities you are interested in. We are about 4 minutes drive from the ocean and a resort with a grocery store, a couple cafes and restaurants and Terracentric outdoor rentals (kayaks and canoes) and guiding tours and outdoor courses for ocean kayaking etc. You can rent bikes and do whale tours and dinner cruises there also. We are quiet people and occasionally have neighbours and friends drop by to visit for dinner. We spend most of our evenings after a long hard days work together with a bottle of wine watching our favorite shows on Netflix or playing board games.

    Also, everyone should know that we are not vaccinated for Covid 19.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi through satellite. It's not the fastest but we do have a large data package. We have an office and many other private places to work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I dont currently have any water or electrical hook ups for trailers but I'm working on running electrical and I have rain barrels outside for rainwater harvesting we could place nearby

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 552517991779