Come and help our family with household tasks and gardening in Edmontno, Canada



Favourited 19 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    We are a cheerful, multilingual family of five who love adventures and welcoming people in our home.

    Over the past years, we have hosted many young travelers for long and short periods of time. The cultural exchange has been and continues to be enriching for everyone. In many cases, our relationship deepened and continued even after the stay.

    Besides attending 'regular' jobs in Alberta, we homeschool, we love traveling, camping, and do some farming in a different province.

    With three kids. So time seems to always disappear on us which means different projects in and around the house are not getting done - or at least not as fast as we would like them to be done. Therefore, we always, always appreciate the help of kind people like yourself who help us out in exchange for a cultural experience - hopefully finding another home in our home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be included in a homeschooling, multilingual family. You will learn how Canadians live, see how homeschooling can be managed despite regular job commitments, learn new skills, and - above all - you will have the opportunity to meet other travelers, Canadians - people from all sorts of backgrounds. At times, our house is like a bee hive :) allowing for new experiences on many levels.
    If you wish, we would include you in our trip(s) to our farm land or any other experience that the season offers like festivals, visits to the zoo, etc.

  • Help


    We are looking for anyone who is up to help with would like to help us paint some walls and clean lentils that we have just gotten off our land.

    Starting May 2019, we will be looking for helpers to get seeding done two quarters of land. If you are interested in this opportunity, please say so in your message.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    As it is winter, we will host you in a semi-private area in our house which we hope to build into something more private. Maybe you can help? When it is warm enough, we always offer up our camper for sleeping so you enjoy added privacy.

    We are living a healthy, chemical free/reduced lifestyle eating a mixed diet. We do eat meat, but not very often. So, if meat is your favorite vegetable, then we may not be the best host family for you. However, if you are vegetarian, we can easily accommodate that. We try to buy organic if it is feasible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will enjoy all amenities of a beautiful, green City. Whether you like festivals, concerts, hikes, sports events, theatre, good food, skiing, skating, shopping, or simply a relaxing evening in a beer garden … our City can offer that. There is a gym and a library very close to our place, and our backyard is an oasis in the summer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 549866826675