Come and help our Eco-Community in São Domingos (Santiago do Cacém), Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings travelers of the world. I am Michiel, a 34 year old male human being. About two months ago I bought a house in the Alentejo region of Portugal. The house is great and has lots of potential, which has already been tapped into, in the past months. My family came over and we had a big round of renovating all together. Today I live here together with my lovely friends Rob and Zara. We are looking for people who are willing to help out in making this house into a home. Painting, some small construction jobs, gardening. That kind of stuff. It would be great to move forward together.

    Update: I will be a away travelling for two months, so my friends Zara and Rob will be managing the work on the house and will receive you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The village of São Domingos is a beautiful example of a typical Alentejo village with all the charm that that entails. Surrounded by vast cork oak tree forests, beautiful lakes and fields it is a far cry from the daily grind of an urban live style.

    We cannot provide an income for you but we are providing good food, occasional pizza and a beautiful place to get to know Portugal.

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned above we are looking for help with power washing, painting, pouring concrete, making furniture from palettes, adapting the electricity, gardening, cooking and stroking the house cat. No specific skills are needed, although of course any experience you have is more then helpful and we would be very grateful to learn from you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch (Rob and Michiel), English (all), French (Michiel), Portuguese (Michiel), Gujarati (Zara), Spanish (Zara)and a bit of German and Urdu

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A 1982 rapido caravan with a 70s styled corner and a comfy bed is all yours to call home as long as you stay with us. The caravan is located inside the work space, next to the garden, so you will have privacy when you feel like that.

    Daily food is provided which consists of an assortment of bread, vegetables, fruit and things like rice, lentils... We kindly ask to purchase extras like cheese, meat or anything in particular you would like, yourself (we regularly go shopping so there is no problem if you need something in particular).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to eat together as often as possible, which doesn't always happen in the morning due to people getting up at different times, just grab whatever you need in the day. Dinner is always done together, unless someone is sick, in need of some privacy or away. we are fond pizza makers and curry enthusiasts, a love we would love to share with you!

    The village is located about 20km from Santiago do Cacem, 40km from Sines (which is a coast town) and 120 km from Lisbon and Faro. The region is great for hiking and mountain biking.

    Buses run two times on weekdays to Santiago so public transport is often a tough one to use here. We can help by getting you into town when we go shopping or need to run errands, and of course we will pick you up and drop you off upon arrival/departure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Michiel and Rob
Dr. Grissom

Host ref number: 547911581293