Dog sitting near the beautiful black beach in Þorlákshöfn, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 494 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Björk and my husband´s name Ingimundur. I have three children that live with my ex-husband to go to school and work. The come to stay with us when ever they can. They are Magnús Bergmann (19), Birgitta Saga (15) and Örn Vikar (10). We have 4 dogs and 1 cat, they are Krummi - black labrador (13), Exo - black labrador (11), Kjarkur - black labrador (5) and Skarpur - mix breed (border collie/labrador) (4 months). Our cat is Njála (2). Björk is an occupational therapist and I work in a kindergarden. Ingimundur is carpender and works in Reykjavík. We volunteer as a Search and Rescuer in Iceland and train SAR dogs as our specialty. We live in a 4 bedroom house in Þorlákshöfn, population aprox 2000 people.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are outdoor people that love to hike and explore the beautiful landscape of Iceland. We travel around the country when ever we have the chance and would be glad to teach and show our guest the beauty of Iceland, its culture and history. We are very out going people that love animals and nature. We are very active in SAR teams in Iceland and would be glad to show people that part of Icelandic culture and include our guest in training the dogs for Search and rescue. We also train and take care of the guide dogs in Iceland and part of our work are caring for them and their users.

  • Help

    Help

    We have 4 dogs that are trained in SAR (search and rescue) or as assistance dogs. They are ranging from 4 months old to 14 years old. We mostly need help caring for them, taking them for a walk ect. we also need help caring fore the dog and the house when we are away for SAR training, work or trips abroad. Help around the house would be helpful to us and helping us with dinner when we need it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (Danish, Germany, Scandinavian - not fluently)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 4 bedroom house in Þorlákshöfn 30 min drive from Reykjavík. Our gest will have their own bedroom
    free food and a lot of time to get to know us, Iceland and it´s culture. Þorlákshöfn is a small village by the black beaches of Iceland. It´s close to the most popular destinations in Iceland such as the Blue Lagoon, Gullfoss, Geysir, and Eyjafjallajökull, Þórsmörk , Skógarfoss.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are only 30 min drive from Reykjavík and the bus drives 2 times a day from Þorlákshöfn to Reykjavík, Hveragerði or Selfoss were you have buses that go all around the country. We are close to many of Icelandic beautiful landscapes and we would try to include our guest when ever we are traveling around Iceland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 546998139724