Learn about sustainable construction and help with renovating a beautiful 17th century mansion in Bretagne, France

Country

France

Favourited 289 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    231

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all, I'm Jake an Architectural designer who's passionate about using and teaching sustainable construction techniques. I'm currently renovating a beautiful 17th century mansion in Bretagne, France.

    I'm an alumni of the Center of alternative technology CAT and a strong believer in passing what I have learned to others. I'm looking for people or groups of friends who are willing to help out and have fun over the summer months.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is great for those who are learning french and I can help teach English through conversation.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a number of tasks/Jobs in the renovation which some help with would be appreciated. I can teach volunteers these skills and give them some experience in using them during the renovation. Lime/Earth plastering, Hemp lime insulation, Masonry and stone work restoration with lime mortar. Carpentry and systems of architectural wood work repair and slate roofing.

    I also have lots of gardening which I need help with and help in the planting of a wild flower meadow and orchard.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are 10 bedrooms four of which can be used at the moment. There are 2 hectares of woodland which can be used for camping or if you have a van. The house has a renovated living room, kitchen and shower/toilet room so comfortable for any stay. There is electricity water and WiFi internet so you can go online.
    I will offer food and drink to those who volunteer with an evening barbecue but can accommodate dietary requirements if needed.

    I can collect people from the local train stations at Lannion or Morlaix

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is 600 meters from the beach at Saint-Efflam where you can swim/sun bathe. There is also a sailing club and kite surfing school. On a good swell there is also good surfing about 10 minuets drive away at Locquirec. I have a couple of boards and wet suits that can be borrowed if needed. The house is next to a national forest with nice walks and cycle tracks that link to the local town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 545754361747