Volunteer in sub tropical Northland - help with garden, house and children, on the coast near Whangarei

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/02/2019

Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5, with a 13 year old at school (who is very musical), a homeschooled 9 year old and a 4 year old.
    We live on a shared property with 5 other house holds and lots of native bush, kiwi, and a great swimming hole. Our property is 4km from one of the best beaches in the world, on the beautiful Tutukaka Coast (45 minutes northeast of Whangarei)! We would love to have some help with the gardens and orchard, and other outdoor jobs, general help around the house with cleaning and cooking, and playing / creating with the kids.
    We have a spray free policy on our land and try to live a healthy organic lifestyle. We are open-minded, relaxed and enjoy meeting new people from different places and having new influences for the children to interact with and learn from.
    There are bush walks here, surfing, diving, fishing, and a variety of beaches nearby. We have a couple of kayaks also available for use.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    General help with gardening, landscaping and outdoor jobs, and around the house, along with entertaining the kids. You need to like children to be here. Any carpentry/joinery assistance would be greatly welcomed. We are quite ad hoc and tasks may involve working on your own in the garden, a bit of house cleaning, feeding chooks and ducks, or entertaining children and assisting with their homeschool activities. Some days may be hard to fit in too much work (we may be out or in town most of the day), and others we may have jobs that take up most of the day, so flexibility is important. We expect you to be part of our family while you are here, which includes helping in the kitchen with meals and cleaning up. A level of practicality and common sense is also expected!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is either in our little cabin (with sink and possibly cooker), or tent as you like, with shared bathroom and compost toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport to our place but one of us works in town full time, so can provide transport. Great beaches to enjoy here, world class diving nearby, fishing, snorkelling, walks, surf, paddle boarding, kayaking all available nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    equivalent to 4hrs a day - may do long days on the weekend and some days off during the week

Help make our earth floor for our new house, or just play with the kids

Host ref number: 544498428174