dog lover needed to look after and pander to our three dogs , three ducks and four chickens

Country

Ecuador

Favourited 167 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a NON SMOKING position
    Our time frame is flexible but we prefer the position to be filled for 4 weeks minimum ,ideally 6 weeks
    My husband and I are retired professionals whose world revolves around our mascotas
    We live a quiet private life and have lived in the fishing village of Crucita for five years, in a modern architect designed home with a swimming pool ,directly on the Pacific ocean. not a gated community but very safe
    The neighbors are expat Americans ,Canadians ,Italians. Germans and Swedes
    We are renovating another property nearby ,very slowly
    The canines are two deaf bull terrier girls,who communicate with an easy version of sign language We cook their meals and do not use any processed dog food
    We have one large alpha male puppy mutt who believes he is the sheriff
    All have been neutered and spayed, are not aggressive
    The birds and dogs grew up together are friends

    The ducks and chickens enjoy the large garden ,roam freely around the garden
    The garden needs watering twice per day as we are located in an arid climate
    Rainy season if at all, begins November /December Very much drought for the last few years
    Our grass does not need mowed ,it is like moss

    We water the grass before the sun goes down and first thing in the morning as well as the mango trees and coconut trees and an orange tree and palm trees

    All of our chickens are girls and have names and know and respond to their names
    Ginger ,Scarlett,Tatiana,Signe, We bought them when they were a day old for 25 cents each at the market They used to produce 200 eggs per month and we feed many of their eggs to the dogs
    The ducks are ,Lola, phoebe and maymay ( hatched in May )... There is camaraderie among the animals and birds and occasionally some political differences
    They all go into the screened coop by themselves at sunset
    We have a large 8ft high cement wall around our property The birds are given large blocks of ice during the day when it is hot,which they love and are very easy to feed, mostly vegetables
    they are fed early morning and noon and the evening They have certain preferences
    Our dogs are fed brown rice ,twice a day that we cook in a rice cooker and it lasts a few days We add cooked meat or fish ,A spoonful of yogurt/ a probiotic, raw organic vegetables and fruits and eggs ,plus a daily multi vitamin We walk the dogs twice a day after their meals The canines go in to the house and out at will and are very clean but are not allowed upstairs They have a schedule and bed time is 7pm
    Daphne ,who is deaf gets very grumpy and irritable if she is over tired. Harriet who is deaf too needs a consistent routine Both are OCD ( obsessive compulsive disorder) and Hadrian is on alert at 7pm to protect the place....... very much a guard dog

    The dogs love each other. We have a ball issue They were losing a ball each day ($5-$10) which they dropped down on to the beach and the tide took out They require some daily ball play time and ball monitoring and a ball count
    also,they need walks
    We have a cleaning lady , Janelle,who comes in for 5 hours twice a week She needs a little direction
    Sometimes mention to focus on Stainless steel or the doors or certain windows
    ...... there is a lot of work on the pretend finca
    We do have an internet but the TV has no reception ,we watch our own movies,or series like Downton Abbey or Borgias etc or documentaries
    It is dark at 7pm ,year round

    it is a nice position for someone who wants to do a lot of reading or studying in a quiet comfortable setting

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This village offers a good opportunity to immerse yourself in the Spanish language because very few Ecuadoreans speak any English or any other language
    Ecuadoreans are eager to learn English but have very little opportunity and the poverty here is immense ,so the majority can not afford books or computers

  • Help

    Help

    If you do not love sweet deaf bull terrier dogs,chickens and ducks meandering around a lovely garden taking in the , sound and the smell of the Pacific ocean and admiring the gorgeous sunsets ,this volunteer position might not appeal to you
    Also a no no for us would be a smoker

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A pretend Finca directly on the Pacific ocean in Crucita Ecuador This is a NON SMOKING household
    consisting of modern home with a pool all to yourself
    My husband and I want to leave for a month TOGETHER ,go to Europe perhaps
    For several years we have traveled separately ,one of us stays home with the critters while the other travels
    We would like to be able to take a trip together

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Crucita is called La bella,is a fishing village ,busy on weekends but otherwise it is very quiet,renowned for parapente, fish,straight out of the small fishing boat,unsurpassed sunsets over the Pacific ,empty beaches and Ecuadoreans who don't speak English and treat Expats ( there are 80 in the village) like rock stars
    Local bus service is third worldish , loud music ,livestock occasionally and kind Ecuadoreans helping you get on and off ...costs $1.50 per hour throughout tiny Ecuador available from 6am to midnight ,every 20-30 minutes,several blocks from our home Crucita is a TOTALLY SAFE little village
    Ejecutivos going to the large cities of Quito ,Guayaquil ,are comfortable, A/C /banos and a frisk down ,when boarding,checking your threat level
    In Crucita there are 30-40 restaurants that all have the same menu .Food is bland and plentiful
    The only crime in Crucita is the stray dog population
    Manta and Portoviejo have modern malls ,an art museum Ecuador is a very artistic country
    The large cities,(2-3 million population), to explore are only a few hours on the ejecutivo or ,in case of Quito ,1/2 hour by plane The largest market in South America is in Otavalo ,not far from Quito Many areas in Ecuador are a short bus ride away IE, Mindo for bird watching Banos and Papajacta for hot springs, Porto lopez for whale watching and Galapagos by plane from Guayaquil
    In town there are other expats who would love to host a volunteer and some times do
    Bahia has the best archealogical museum in Ecuador .is two hours away by bus

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day,





Host ref number: 543936614325