Tasmanian creative homestay is looking for helpers to reshape permaculture inspired property

Country

Australia

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple (German/Australian) and 12 year old living on 5 acres of land 30 min from Hobart, capital of Tasmania. We are in the process of renovating and reshaping our eco house and property, trying to apply permaculture principles as much as possible. There is lots to do and we need your help. We are a social, friendly and creative bunch looking forward to meet you!

    Both Darvis and Lisa are Social workers and work with disadvantaged members of the community. This is part-time in Hobart.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Darvis was born and raised in Tasmania, has pioneered a unique bush walking business in the Tarkine in Tasmanian’s north west and loves to share local knowledge about Tasmania with travellers who stay with us.
    We play a lot of music and have several instruments at home, come and jam with us around the camp fire!
    Lisa loves dancing, Yoga and awareness work and is involved in dance projects in Hobart. She is German and loves speaking her mother tongue... :-)

  • Help

    Help

    Specifically practical skills wanted! We are building a large permaculturally inspired garden and camp ground that can support travellers and ourselves to come together and eat good food and play music around campfire. So the basic skills of raking, building garden beds are great. Knowledge of gardening is excellent.

    Building skills like knowledge on using saws, drills, sanders etc are highly sought after. Darvis has lots of building skills and is always in need of support with projects on the land.

    Wanting people who love being on land, working together and that are happy to get their hands dirty :-)

    Ideally we love having people stay over a length of time, the longer the better, and use our place as a base camp to launch from.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a cute and comfortable Bedford school bus equipped with a small kitchen, queen size bed, furniture and heater. You also have Wifi there. There's also the option to camp.
    Our arrangement with helpers is that they work 2 hours / day on 7 days a week in exchange for staying here.
    You can manage your own hours by choosing to work 4 hours one day and then none the other, it is up to you and your and our plans.
    We will not buy food or cook for you, as we can’t afford this. Instead you can buy food yourself (Grocery Store 5 min away) and cook in the bus and you’re therefore not expected to work as many hours. We do have a get together evening once a week where we share food and do a check in and apart from that are casual about sharing food and on some occasions will be happy to share food with you.
    It is helpful if you have a car, as buses run only sparingly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In time off, Darvis has a wealth of knowledge about local sights and things to do. Oyster Cove is perfectly positioned to be a base camp for Bruny island, sights around the channel area, the Huon and the far south.
    Our place is also one of tranquility, invites quiet reflection in your off time. We are 10 min walk from a historically significant Aboriginal land, now owned by its traditional owners.
    We are a close drive to stunning national parks, incl. Mt Field, Cockle Creek, Tasman Peninsula, Maria Island and more. Beautiful beaches close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours per day, no food provided, with days on and off as you choose


Host ref number: 542138127462