Looking for a hand around extensive vegetable and homestead garden and family, Manakau, New Zealand .

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2020

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Pip and John's 100 year old family dairy farm producing and delivering raw milk at the foothills of the Tararuas. Extensive vegetable garden and established homestead garden.
    Most work is in the home garden with the odd farm chore. Interested in traditional principles of nutrition and Low Carb Healthy Fat nutrition (and vegetarian is fine). We occasionally teach a weekend course in traditional food prep techniques. Shared meals. Pip works part-time with Scenar. 10 mins by car to beautiful Waikawa Beach or 40 mins bike ride. 5 mins to walk in the Tararua Forest Park. Helpers welcome to use bikes, pool... Sons, partners, grandchildren and other assorteds nearby.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    it's a great spot - just an hour to Wellington - and the beach often has no-one there! We've hosted many wwoofers for 20 years and met some wonderful travellers.

  • Help

    Help

    General garden work - pruning etc. I try to vary the jobs so it doesn't get too boring! I always appreciate help with preparing meals and anyone interested in food!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Big comfortable room upstairs with king size bed plus single bed, and sofa. Own bathroom. Plenty of WiFi internet - but we like it turned off when not in use - nasty frequencies to have round. Most times people get their own breakfast and lunch and we share dinner prep. We try to grow most of what we eat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Good walks up the hill or into bush or visit Kapiti Island Bird Sanctuary, Otaki Gorge, bike to the beach... 15 mins to town - Otaki or Levin.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours a week max

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 541221866233