Help our family and discover life in Sicily, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    230

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5, James and Priscilla, Miri aged 16 months, Emi cat baby aged 2, and Grungie cat baby aged 3.
    We are originally from Malaysia/Hong Kong, but raised in London, so we are English speaking and have just moved to Palermo, Sicily for James' work as a pilot.

    Sicily is a wonderful place to live, full of life, sights and sounds. Italian people are warm, kind and family orientated and once they accept you, they will welcome you in and do anything they can to help you. We have experienced that first hand here and being touched by the kindness of virtual strangers.

    Our spacious luxury apartment is located on Via Principe Di Belmonte, which they say is one of the most beautiful streets in Palermo. I would agree with this sentiment and we are so happy living here. Furthermore, we are very centrally located in the heart of Palermo, so you can walk everywhere, which is crucial as public transport here is notoriously unreliable. Honestly, if you wanted to experience life in Sicily, you really could not wish to live in a nicer, better positioned home for the experience of a lifetime in Palermo.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The people here generally can only speak Italian so you will also be learning a new language, as we are! Culturally we are from Malaysia and Hong Kong, so you can experience some of our Asian cooking at home as well as learning about how it is to live with a family from London. Outside of our home you will be experiencing what it means to have a life in Sicily. Meeting other Italian people, spending time with two adorable cats and making friends with a cheeky darling toddler.

  • Help

    Help

    Generally I need someone to be as helpful, hard-working, observant and quick to get things done as possible. I would be very happy if you are able to take your own initiative to see what things you can do to help alleviate my stress and workload when my husband is working. Also to not take it personally that during the times I have my daughter around I will not be able to talk to you or spend a lot of time with you and instead would be looking for you to a little bit take care of my needs as I am taking care of everyone else's needs all the time!

    It would be good if you can be flexible with the help that you can give as it will depend on my husbands schedule when I will need you more. For example if he is working earlies than I will need more help in the morning, but if he is on lates then I will need more help in the evenings. He works 5 days on and then has 4 days off so you will get more free time than usual workaways. However, we would still ask that you help out where you can, as we see your tasks as contributing to being part of our household rather than someone working a set amount of hours and days a week.

    I will need your help in the morning while I get Miri and myself ready for the day and then housework. I will also need help in the evenings with the dinner and cleaning up the house from the day. We have a robot hoover that we run every morning. I mostly need support to help keep my daughter safe, entertained and happy while we are doing things. Experience with younger children would be preferential. Failing that just a genuine love for kids, as I will do most of the nitty gritty childcare like feeding, nappies and baths etc.

    I would also ask for some help with the cats, to feed them and change their water and scoop the litter.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom with air conditioning and guest bathroom. Also you can have your own TV if you would like one as we don't use the one in our bedroom much. You are welcome to share in our family mealtimes, but no pressure to join us if you have your own preferences. Within reason, we can cover your choice of grocery shopping if we go together to the supermarket.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live less than 5 minutes walk from the airport bus, which costs 6 euros, so it will be easy for you to get to the airport if you wanted to travel. There are many beautiful places, beaches and islands to visit in Sicily too, so there is no shortage of things to see and do here.

    We are a very clean and tidy household and we expect our visitors to respect this and help to keep our home clean and tidy too. No smokers or other people sleeping over please unless you have arranged this with us in advance. We also don't wear shoes in the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 537368986248