Join a family of chocolatiers in the beautiful mountain village of Zomba, Malawi

Country

Malawi

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an artisanal chocolatier in Malawi, the warm heart of Africa. Our main location is the beautiful mountain village of Zomba, where we have the factory, a shop, a coffee shop, even space and a bed and breakfast - and room for more projects. We try to offer a big variety of events to guests, such as a monthly farmer's market, art exhibits, live music and themed food events.
    I am a mother of three and run this business with 6 local staff.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Malawi is a wonderful and welcoming place which is safe to travel and offers a wide variety of sights and experiences. We have Zomba plateau just here and Liwonde national park less than an hour away. The lake is only 1,5h drive.

  • Help

    Help

    Workawayers can help by offering permanence at the lodge . There are vast gardens at the lodge that need establishing. We are just setting up lodge and cafe so menu help, help with social media and website, photography, marketing, design new products/help organize... We are looking to expand our menu into more allergy, vegan and vegetarian options, as well as offer a better selection of cakes, bakes and patisserie.
    We plan a lot of events so also on the marketing, organization and exacution of hose, help is appreciated.
    As per above, I am a mother of three unschooled children, so helping out with them is also appreciated. My home is a historic property that I am currently renovating, any help or assistance in that department is very welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Chichewa, Chewa, Nyanja: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    private ensuite room in the bed and breakfast
    meals will be provided

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Zomba bus station has very good quality and affordable busses to just about anywhere within Malawi.
    The Zomba community is also very helpful and ofte willing to lend a ride in exchange for fuel contribution. We have a highly knit community with lots of fun social activities in walking distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 536853432481