Hep with a variety of projects and learn about living off-grid at our property in Skookumchuck, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all!
    After travelling for years, Adam and I (Lory) decided to move in British Columbia on an off the grid property. Adam has been a raft guide for over 10years and always dreamed of living by a river. I always loved the outdoors and was looking for a different lifestyle.
    So when we found this property we fell in love right away; 4 acres of beautiful forest, 2 ponds fed by an artesian source, backing on to a stunning creek and surrounded by crown land as far as the eye can see... We couldn't have dream anything more perfect.

    We have been living here for 2 years now and everyday brings us new challenges, new projects and more happiness. We are solar powered and use a gravity fed system for the water, wood stove for heat and love it!
    Last summer (2016), we were able to open our eco-lodge and adventure tours, we offer accommodation in 2 historical cabins and camping. Adam guides all the activities in our backyard; white water rafting on world class river (yes, right in the backyard!), xtreme tubbing, Paddle boarding, float trips etc

    But there is no way we could do it all by ourself... Each friend, guest and visitor is part of this adventure with us and bring a bit of their skills, knowledge and soul, we couldn't do it without you and we always need help...

    Hope to see you soon!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Each experience is unique and different. Depending on your skills, your interests and the time of the year, we usually decide together the project that you will enjoy and get the most out of. We love cooking and playing outdoors and usually our guests do too, we are sociable and enjoy having people around.
    If you like outdoor adventures, we offer white water rafting, Stand up paddling, extreme tubbing and usually helpers love to come along! In the winter, we go ice fishing, snowshoeing and are currently training our dog pulling a sled.

  • Help

    Help

    The type of helps really depends on the moment of the year and of your skills. We usually present a few projects and see which one would suit best for everyone. We had an experienced electrician helping with our solar panel, food amateur helping with gardening, and some people without hands on experience that we taught basic skills like painting (they helped renovating the bus), wood (vital for us in the winter).. Let's chat!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french and english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Again, each case is different;
    - in winter; we will offer you one of the cabin that has a wood stove in it so we're sure you're nice and warm :)
    - in the summer; if we don't have guest at the time, you are welcome in the cabins, or the teepee. Camping is always available. Travellers with vans and campers are welcome too!

    Remember we are an off the grid property, we run on solar power and use the water from our pond.
    Bathroom is an outhouse, outdoor shower in the summer, indoor shower at our place in the winter.

    If you are curious about off grid living or if you have experience with it, we would love to hear from you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Having your own transportation is a must. We are in a remote location, it is amazing to stay here days at a time but there is also a lo to explore.;
    - Kimberley village and ski resort - 35min
    - Premier Lake - 20min
    - natural Hot springs - 40min
    - infinite amount of hikes, fishing spots, lakes, waterfall and river to go check out and swim in!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 535431995441