Come stay in our houseshare in a castle in the beautiful Lake District, to help on permaculture garden , woodland, animals in England, UK,

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 754 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Apologies for the bad reply rate, have been off grid for a while!

    Hello! We are a house share operating from a castle in Cumbria. The house has origins in C12 with a very rich history and is full of character. We are based in a quiet location just outside Hayton village, with lovely views of the Solway Coast AONB. We are 2 miles from the beach and 6 miles into the Lake District national park, so the surrounding countryside has lots to offer in terms of natural and built heritage.

    We are a small household of 4-5 people. Its a privately owned home with 3 rooms rented to house mates and also a carpenter who has a caravan and workshop on site. The grounds are private and the project is to establish
    A level of self sufficiency as well as helping local wildlife by growing by permaculture principals. Our aims for the next couple of years are to establish the allotment.

    Most work in 2020 will be based around maintaining the gardens, planting vegetables, chopping logs and fixing up some old buildings. As well as day to day running of the site.

    We welcome volunteers who are independent people, hard working with some interest in the work. You must enjoy working outdoor in all weather, not be worried about the possibility of working alone sometimes and not be scared of old houses! The house is not luxurious, some volunteers have assumed this due to its name! It is basic but welcoming.

    We all work different time tables and I go away for work or travelling a fair bit. So we welcome volunteers who can make themselves at home and are happy to work on projects either alone or with another volunteer. Independent people are essential as it is a house share scenario and not a typical commune or large family scenario.

    It might be that volunteers are here when we are all here and the place is busy, or it could be the opposite. Depending on how everyone's time tables and lives are going!

    Also looking at the idea of longer term housemates / volunteers

    Also, we are a liberal household, welcomming of all sexes, sexualities, races and religions. And wish to welcome those who are also non discrimatory and open minded. Its nearly 2020 after all :)

    We hope you have enjoyed reading and we welcome your messages, and hope you're not scared off by the reference thing! :)

    Thanks

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Gardening - Animal Care - Woodland Maintenance - Pond Creation - Permaculture - Hay Making

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable rooms in the house either single or shared, indoor bath / toilet, bed provided. The house is chilly in winter, bring warm clothes :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Very close to Lake District National Park for stunning scenery and outdoor activities , 2 miles from beaches.
    Also lookign into the idea of commune / communal living / shared growing system.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week















Host ref number: 534914849536