Experience small farm life in County Offaly, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    367

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Alma and I am living on a small farm in County Offaly with a lot of work piling up including an old cottage that needs clearing out and restoration and a stone path that requires forming...lots of projects....I would love some help to motivate and strengthen the summer ahead and make the load a little lighter. I have two dogs and a cat, some sheep and cows and cattle to look after so there are daily chores required.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's quite beautiful here with bogs all around to walk and swim or go on cycling adventures...there are a few villages with great Irish music sessions and Clonmacnoise is a short drive away. Saving turf in the bog is surely a promising cultural experience.

  • Help

    Help

    I am living on a small farm near the boglands of Offaly, Middle Ireland...my Dad the farmer has recently become ill and is in hospital so we have a lot of work on our hands. He raised beef cattle and sheep and I am trying to keep things going as he gets well so I would be grateful for help during the summer months. There is a lot of jobs on a daily basis, feeding cattle and tending sheep but also there are time consuming tasks like turning turf and bringing it home from the bog when weather allows. We are doing a lot of clearing and cleaning here on the farm and some building work. Skills such as carpentry, electrical work, handy man type of thing would be preferable but there are plenty of tasks to choose from to suit anyone who doesn't mind getting their hands dirty.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have two rooms available in my house, one double and one single. All food will be provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have an old high Nellie bicycle that needs a new tyre but is otherwise very suitable for cycling on the flat back roads and out to the bog....people like fishing and nature walks. The Slieve Bloom mountains are close by and the Shannon river.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 532667782244