Come and stay with our family and play with our daughter on a Vancouver Island homestead, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a middle age couple with two children. We share 10 acres of forested mountain land with three other couples and their children. We have a kitchen garden, fruit trees, and small building projects you can help with. Mostly, though, we are looking for help looking after our 16 month old daughter, who is a ton of fun and super active. She plays out side all day and her parents could use some breaks! It would also be great if you could make lunch once in awhile!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a progressive couple, and we enjoy talking politics, climate change, and all things psychological and philosophical. We are trying to live as lightly as possible on the land and in community. We are right in nature here, and a refreshing river is only a short walk or bike ride away. We are avid birdwatchers, foragers, and lifelong learners.

  • Help

    Help

    Do you like going for walks? Playing in the sandbox? Looking for bugs? Our daughter would love to play with you! If you can manage making a few sandwiches or an omelette and doing a sink of dishes, you are who we need!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own rustic cabin with a double mattress in a loft, an outdoor cold shower, a camp stove, electricity, and an outhouse. Access to warm shower and washing machine. The cabin is close to the main house but also very private. Wake to the sound of birds every morning!
    Please know that we don’t have internet and cell reception is limited.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located on the world class TransCanada Trail that takes you to the Kinsol Trestle and the Koksilah River, and Shawnigan Lake beyond. There are many hiking trails you can access by foot. Duncan is a small town about twenty minutes away by car. If you like being in Nature, this is the place for you! We appreciate someone who can join in for meals and conversation but also be comfortable on your own as we are both social introverts!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 532445683179