Help vegan-friendly family on our farm in Hawke's Bay, New Zealand


New Zealand


Favourited 173 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Stay on our orchard in sunny Hawkes Bay! We are happy to provide the food you enjoy eating. We book in volunteers for two weeks (or longer) during harvest time Dec/Jan while at other times of the year it depends on what suits the helpers and us. We can pick you up from the bus stop in Hastings if you don't have your own car. We enjoy hosting volunteers from all over the world. We grow delicious boysenberries and cherries in our orchard. We run a flock of 58 sheep (plus lambs) and have dogs and cats as pets. In our spare time we enjoy tramping. We volunteer with the Department of Conservative in their Kiwi Programme doing pest eradication. This gets us into the nearby Kaweka Mountains whenever we have spare time. We enjoy travelling, music and hanging out with friends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living with a New Zealand family gives you a great insight into real life in our country. If English is not your first language, you will get plenty of opportunity to practise and improve! We can also teach you about growing fruit and vegetables, gardening and looking after sheep, dogs, cats and chickens. If you are looking for agricultural work, we can make suggestions and tell you what jobs are available in our area at different times of the year e.g. apple thinning, picking etc.

  • Help


    In Springtime we have gardens that need weeding and lawns to mow. Through July and August we are busy lambing and you can share the excitement of new woolly babies arriving. Summer is a fun time and volunteers can see how we plan and run our harvest. Through autumn there are always chores around the house - chopping firewood, gardening and cleaning. We have three dogs and two cats - they all love pats and attention! They all live outside so don't cause problems for those with allergies.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Two bedrooms (one double, one single) with your own bathroom. The double room has a TV (with Chromecast). In mid summer we pitch our large two room tent for anyone who wants to to get closer to nature! We provide all food (vegans, vegetarians, meat eaters all welcome). You have basic cooking facilities and/or join us for an evening meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our helpers enjoy our relaxed lifestyle, and peaceful environment. We give you the opportunity to try your hand at different tasks and learn new skills. Time out is fun too - there is a stream at the back of the property and we have two kayaks for your use . We also have three bicycles - with helmets and hi-viz vests - for you to explore the area. We are cycling distance to cafes and shops. There are many wineries in our region and you can hike up Te Mata Peak for great views or visit the Farmers Market on Sunday mornings. Helpers with their own car may like to visit stunning Shine Falls (80km north) or hike to Sunrise Hut in the Ruahine Mountains. You can keep in touch with friends and family with our fast unlimited WiFi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 532226974537