1 / 3

Help with gardening on a little property in the small village of Fornelli, Italy

  • Favourited 4 times
  • Last activity: 13 Nov 2023

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi all, I am Martina (originally from Germany) and currently am renovating a small stone house in a beautiful little village in the National Park of Cilento, 5 km from the Mediterannean. The property around the house is 4000 m2 with 2 wells, a lot of olive trees, citrus/orange and fig trees as well as other fruit bearing trees.
    My partner Murtaza is helping me with maintenance of the garden and with DIY tasks around the house.
    We need some help with maintenance of the garden (cutting grass, pruning trees, harvesting fruit and olives) - especially at olive harvesting time. We also would like to rebuild and restore some stone walls and create a vegetable garden. So we are looking for help with all of these tasks.
    We are both fluent in German, my partner also speaks Turkish, and I also speak English and a bit of Italian. We are easy-going and are passionate about nature and plants.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunity to learn about pruning olive and fruit trees, how to graft trees as well as the harvesting and conserving of olives and other fruits such as figs, lemons etc. Workawayers also would have the chance to experience life in a traditional Italian village and learn about Italian cooking. Also guests could improve English and German language skills.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in the garden like cutting grass, watering plants, pruning trees, harvesting fruit and olives. We could also use help for general maintenance of the fencing and the unpaved road leading to the house.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am very proficient in English and German and could teach people how to improve. I am interested in improving my Italian language skills.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently we are still renovating the house. Once this is completed, there will be a self-contained flat for workawayers with separate entrance, bedroom, bathroom and kitchen.
    At the moment we can offer camping site for workawayers with an outdoor shower and toilet. We would provide a tent, insulation mattress, sleeping bag and blankets to workaway guest.

    Food for workawayers would be provided (3 meals per day).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be beneficial if workers have their own car / e-bike or small motor bike, as there is no public transport in the village. Sea is closeby (just 5 km), nearby are beautiful coastlines of Cilento with great beaches. Also Paestum with its ancient Greek temples, Velia and holiday resorts of St. Maria di Castellabate are very close. Also possible to do some hiking in the nearby hills of Monte Stella

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I can accept dogs and cats

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 531237375595

Photos

Feedback

Join us in a Nature Life project in Limina, Sicily, Italy
Help us on a family farm and learn all about bread and organic farming Sant Agata de Goti, Italy