Help out in a small farm in the Norwegian fjord

Country

Norway

Favourited 166 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    I am a teacher living in a small farm in one of the norwegian fjords. The farm is located 20 meter from the waterfront and just below mountains reaching towards 1000 masl. Especially during the long norwegian nights, this place is quite magical :)

    There is always some work to be done; cutting the grass, chopping wood, painting or general maintenance around. I have a rowing boat, a cano and some kayaks, and the fjord is full of fish. The access to the mountains gives opportunities for hiking, climbing, skiing in the winter and camping (almost) anywhere you like.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The farm is located in a small village, half an hour by car from the nearest town. There is nature around everywhere you turn.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always stuff that needs to be done around the farm. I do not have animals, except my needy cat, but the grass needs to be cut, the house could use some new paint as well as other types of maintenance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have three extra bedrooms in the house. We'll share the kitchen and bathrooms, and sometimes make dinner together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am working full time as a teacher in the university college in Volda, the nearest town. It would be possible to borrow bikes, and even the car sometimes. I am also eager to take you around and show you some of the best parts of Sunnmøre (the region). The Norwegian "alpes" are less than an hour away, this is where you find some of the nicest hikes in Norway, and you dont have to go far to places where you can see far out in the norwegian sea.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 597263894815