Come and help grow your own food in our beautiful garden while you explore north-west Tasmania.

Country

Australia

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are Phil and Iona. We have a 5-acre chemical-free farm in the foothills of the beautiful Dial Range, north-west Tasmania. We'd love to meet friendly travellers (single or couples) who can give us a hand with gardening and simple farm work in exchange for a room and food.
    Our little farm (big garden) has fruit trees, berries, some veggies (with space for lots more), chickens, ducks, sheep and bees who love all the gorgeous flowers in the area.
    Right beside our place there is mountain-biking, bush-walking and all the cool touristy places in north-west Tas. There is even fruit-picking work nearby in the summer if you wanted to try to get paid work as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to teach new gardeners what we know, and also very happy to learn from others and hear about new ideas. We are environmental scientists so love to chat about Tassie native flora and fauna. There are lots of birds, frogs and cute native mammals like bandicoots. You might even be able to see a Tasmanian Devil near here too.

  • Help

    Help

    We are both busy and would love 3-5 hours volunteering from you. Big jobs are weeding, planting seeds, tending to seedlings, making compost, harvesting fruit and then at certain times of year there will be preserving to be done. We also have a couple of big project ideas if you are handy - fencing, renovating, or even interior design!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Some very poor attempts at other European languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently two comfortable rooms in our house, but later in the summer there might be separate accommodation. Space for a campervan or tents too. We are happy to share food if you're working here, or if you want to bring your own and contribute that's fine too. Iona is a vegetarian so we are very happy to be veggie and vegan-friendly, but Phil does sometimes eat a bit of (home-grown) lamb, and there is an enthusiastically carnivorous cat in the house.
    We try not to buy plastic-packaged food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Phil and I had some excellent experiences with Workaway in South and North America a couple of years ago and we'd love to hear about the places you've been and are planning to go! It's a small house with a shared bathroom so we'll all have to be considerate with each other. We care about the planet and are trying to minimise waste of all kinds!
    There is a bus service from the town of Penguin towards Burnie or Devonport, where there are connections to Launceston, Hobart and Melbourne. We can pick you up and drop you off at Burnie or Devonport.
    Check out the website Visit Cradle Coast for info about this area. The whole north and west coast has some amazing places that most people don't get to visit. We call this place Penguino on the Tasmanian Riviera! There is mountain biking and hiking in the Dial Range right beside our place, and we have some gear you can borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 528469328693