Help on my veggie patch in rural Brittany, France

  • Favourited 539 times
  • Last activity: 15 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I'm Sandra and I'm looking for volunteers at all times of the year please. I'm English, and live in a quiet hamlet in rural Brittany where there are only seven houses. 200 paces from my house I have some land with hens and ducks who provide eggs, there are two sheep. There are also three cats, Claude, Loulou and Fifi. I have am partway through my seventh bee keeping year. There's a large polytunnel and raised veggie beds which always need planting, watering and weeding.

    My hobbies are photography, writing, reading, walking, gardening, meeting new people, short mat bowls, cooking and enjoying the sunshine.

    This is a gay friendly home - my eldest son is gay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers will have the opportunity to care for my poultry - ducks and hens - and my sheep, giving feed and water and keeping their houses clean. Collecting and storing feed, hay and manure for the veggie beds is one of the more strenuous tasks. If they are new to veggie gardening, they can learn how to prepare the ground, sow seeds, take care of seedlings and them out into polytunnel and raised outside beds. Maintaining the veggie beds by weeding and watering and harvesting the produce to eat is rewarding. The bee hives here provide the possibility of learning about apiculture, taking care of the bees, harvesting the honey in the Spring and at the end of the Summer and getting the hives ready for the Winter months. I give excess eggs and produce which I can't use to my neighbours and guests. Buildings and fences need maintenance on a fairly regular basis. There is general maintenance around the house, cottages and land and in the flower garden.

    If you have particular skills then I would be interested in using them if possible - previous Workawayers have constructed planters for the garden from pallet wood and sewing skills were used to make covers for garden furniture.

    There is wifi in the Workawayer accommodation and some of my helpers have been doing French courses while they have been staying with me, then having the possibility of going out to practice with the locals.

    My property is on the edge of a wood and there are lots of walks from the garden and from local town of St Nicolas du Pélem. It is a quiet, tranquil location and makes a pleasant change from the rush and noise of urban environments. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and I am a fair and flexible host. I am still in touch with most of my Workawayers from the last 9-10 years and love hearing about their travels and experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    Help on the veggie beds and in the poly tunnel, also in the flowerbeds and gravelled area within the garden. Feeding the animals and cleaning out their houses. Stacking logs, strimming the grass and keeping the outside areas tidy. Possibly cleaning vehicles and sorting out the garage etc. General property maintenance. Help is for my own home, growing produce and animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Newly decorated double bedded room or twin single bedded room with shower room in the utility building. There's some gym equipment too for the energetic amongst you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bicycles are available for exploring the countryside and getting into the nearest villages. There's a BBQ and some gym equipment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 519119899735

Feedback (56)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)