Cultural exchange with our family and learn about wild herbs near Florence, Italy




Favourited 118 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are Giulia and Gianni and we live in a country house on the hills near Florence.
    We have two daughters, two cats, friendly neighbours. We take care of 200 olive trees and we produce our own olive oil.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you decide to spend some time with us, you will have the possibility to:
    - learn Italian language
    - cook with Giulia and learn Italian cuisine
    - learn how to recognize wild herbs that can be eaten and/or used for medical purpose
    - learn how to take care of olive trees and see how oil is produced in Tuscany
    - visit the superb surrounding area, including Firenze (5 km away), Siena (60 km away), Pisa (80 km away)...

  • Help


    We specially appreciate company for our daughters aged 9 and 3, and help with taking care of the olive trees. We especially need help with olive picking, which takes place in October and November, and with pruning the trees, from March to May each year. In other periods, we can pick wild herbs, flowers and berries that can be eaten, we can work on the little wood in order to create new paths, we can cut wood and grass...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a big guest room with twin beds. The bathroom is in common with us. If you particularly appreciate privacy and the sounds of nature, you are of course free to borrow our tent and accommodate yourself in the garden or in the olive field!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We appreciate company as much as help, and we do not ask for long hours of help (unless you come when we pick up olives: in that case, we usually work hard a lot!). Gianni works in an office in Firenze, while Giulia is home for most of the time, so she can be a good company. Public buses arrive 20-30 minute walk away from the top of the hill where we live, but we can arrange for car rides up and down the hill!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 528115898619