Come and join 3 old women and an old house in The North Country, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Jac and Valerie, 66/65-year-old married women, and Valerie's mother Patsy lives with us. We have 2 small dogs, Suzie is an older, sleepy miniature dachshund and Sophie is a Yorkie who is also a therapy dog. We recently moved into a 150-year-old house in the northern New Hampshire town of Whitefield.

    The house is a huge, beautiful French Second Empire style that is in surprisingly good condition and had not been "messed up" by previous restorations. We are "refreshing" the house - filling cracks in the walls, painting, etc. We need workaways to help with yardwork, painting, cleaning/organizing our art studio and woodworking shop, and some masonry, carpentry, and furniture moving.

    We have 3 guest rooms and 3 bathrooms. We also have a 3rd floor recreation space that contains a pool table (possibly one of the worst pool tables in the world, but it does allow for a fun evening).

    The town of Whitefield is in the northern edge of the White Mountains and is one of the prettiest towns I've ever seen. It has a town square (the only one in the area I think) that they flood in the winter to make an ice skating rink. It's close to all sorts of nature recreations. In the winter there is skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating, and ice fishing. The rest of the year there is fishing, hiking (we're close to the Appalachian trail), bike riding, motorcycling, and more. It is remote but only a few hours from beaches or anything else you want (shopping, restaurants, casino, etc.). There is a lake with a sand beach less than a half-hour drive, a tramway, scenic railroad rides, a waterpark, and other tourist attractions nearby.

    We're both good cooks and meals are hearty and made from scratch. Meals generally have meat, potatoes, and in-season fresh vegetables (there are plenty of vegetable choices if you are a vegetarian, vegan may be more difficult but we will work that out if desired).

    If you want to learn new things, we are excited to help you. Patsy knits. Jac can teach you how to make bread, cookies or some of the best soups you'll ever taste. Valerie works with almost all crafts (from tatting to woodworking) and is an artist. Valerie would also be able to teach household repairs, furniture restoration, woodworking (including use of power tools), etc. Valerie wants to learn more about these skills and also wants to learn brazing.

    Valerie is allergic to cats and cigarette smoke. We have a drink sometimes but never get drunk and we don't want guests who get drunk or high. No illegal drugs (including marijuana) allowed in our house.

    Our home is charming and peaceful. We are casual and easy going. It is remote here so you will probably want transportation -
    maybe rent a car or motorcycle?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's a simple life with time to relax in some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere in the world. The air is clean and the stars fill the sky at night. We've seen moose and more turkeys than you can count. There's bears and beavers and other wildlife living just a short distance away. It's all so beautiful and pictures just don't do it justice but if you're a photographer, you're going to want to try. The geology is amazing as are the waterfalls. Again, if you want to learn new things, we are excited to help you learn knitting, cooking, crafts (from tatting to woodworking) and art.

  • Help

    Help

    The yardwork we need is trimming trees and bushes that have been neglected for decades and helping to get the front landscaping under control. There is also some hardscaping that needs to be done: a front sidewalk and border around our memorial garden. Interior and exterior painting includes patching walls on the interior and scraping/sanding on the exterior. The studio and shop just need organized. The carpentry projects are mostly minor repairs but can get more complex (from repairing a door to finishing the 3rd floor recreation room and Valerie will train you if you are unskilled as long as you are willing).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have three guestrooms and three bathrooms. There is one bathroom on the first floor which is available for daytime use. The guestrooms and the other bathrooms are on the second floor. One of the upstairs bathrooms has a shower and the other has an old-fashioned claw foot tub. If you want more privacy, we do have a camper but it doesn't have a bathroom. The house has several areas for relaxing including the 3rd floor recreation room.

    Our meals are old-fashioned, hearty, and home cooked from scratch. Most of the time or meals have meat, often pork, and lots of fresh vegetables. The North Country also has numerous pizza, Asian, and other restaurants available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area is remote and you may need your own transportation. Maybe a rental car or motorcycle?

    Please, NO smoking, drugs (including no marijuana), and no getting drunk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The ocean is a few hours away.
The most beautiful country I've ever seen - pictures just don't convey how amazing it is.
Moose - This is moose country.
Taken in the mountains near Whitefield.
Sophie
Possibly the worst pool table in the world.
Our "library" is a lovely place to relax with a good book.
One of the guestrooms.
Home. Just a few doors from the town square.
Help Jac and Valerie restore their 150-year-old house in the midst of amazing scenery and recreational opportunities.


Host ref number: 527189844396