Need some help selling old things in a picturesque Kent village, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    677

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    2018 Update
    ==========
    A brief update to our original listing below. Apologies to the many people who have contacted us recently and not received timely replies - life has been rather, er, busy! We were hoping to welcome Workawayers again soon, but some structural problems with the house mean we need to sort those out before anyone else can stay here - and because of the unique property, it's unlikely to be finished soon. :-(
    Once we're again ready for guests, the work will be basically as shown below, although a large chunk of the 'book cataloguing' work was done last year, so this year there may be more gardening work - but also some PC (eBay) tasks too, e.g. if the weather is bad.
    Watch this space...

    Original 2017 info:
    ===============
    We're a couple living in an unusual property in a picturesque Kent village. 30 minutes' walk to the sea, fields all around, but also a short bus ride to centres of culture such as Canterbury or Margate, and within reach of both London and the Dover-Calais crossing. Most overseas visitors come here by Eurostar or by air (LON = London ==> LGW Gatwick or LHR Heathrow), then local rail or bus - feel free to ask for advice on the easiest routes.

    Our house is large and full of character... but also needs a lot of work, much more than we first realized! So we've finally accepted we need help, with a whole range of different projects. First will be to clear space (which involves getting rid of excess possessions, on eBay or similar), then we'll need to renovate two large outbuildings. Oh, and while this is going on, the garden mustn't be neglected either...

    We're a bilingual household (Japanese & English), with some knowledge of other languages too, and plenty of experience communicating across language boundaries. We're also musical - we often play chamber music (classical: sometimes professionally but mainly for fun), and are generally very easy-going. We're hoping to find workawayers who are international in outlook, energetic (we're hard-working ourselves), and keen to share life experiences.

    Our household is non-smoking, and has a quite boisterous dog, whom we (and you?) take on a 5-mile walk most days. One of us is vegan so all meals will include vegan options, but the other is omni so there will sometimes be meat/fish etc. too.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll experience life in a small rural village, with opportunities to practise English and/or Japanese, and also gain some insights into translation/interpreting work. If you're musical (whether on an instrument or as a singer), you can join in with the many local activities we're involved in, which is another easy way to make friends. You can enjoy lots of country and seaside walks, but also visit beautiful towns such as Canterbury or Sandwich, and many other historic sites. Above all, we'd hope you enjoy talking about different cultures, as we have travelled quite widely and are very happy to spend an evening chatting about different views on life, politics, cuisine or whatever.

  • Help

    Help

    One 'skill' we're looking for at present is computers: someone who is happy to spend hours photographing & listing hundreds of old books & magazines on eBay or similar sites (an experienced eBayer would be great), and then helping us get rid of them. We could provide the use of a PC etc., but using your own laptop may be easier.

    As long as it's around 5 hours per day (5 days per week), this work could be done in the morning or evening, leaving the middle of the day free to explore the local countryside. It could be done on either weekdays or weekends - we normally work from home, so most days are quite similar.

    We can also use help weeding/digging the garden, harvesting produce, chopping wood, and general house maintenance - some outbuildings are quite run-down and we need to clear them then renovate them. There is no end of work to be done!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Japanese, English, some German, French, Spanish, very basic Chinese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently we have one room usable for workaway guests, with a sofabed (double). The bathrooms would be shared. It's quite easy to get to a bus stop (buses every 15 minutes or so) and from there to a railway station for longer trips. If you were coming by car, there is space to park.

    We normally have just continental-style breakfast and a substantial cooked evening meal, which would be shared. We do drink alcohol - we make our own fruit wine, and occasionally beer too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We used to have friends visiting all the time - but while our children were growing, this dwindled to a trickle. We tend to be active, fast-moving but relaxed (if that makes sense) - people who take 20 minutes to 'wake up' or who spend the evening alone in their room on Facebook or Netflix aren't our style at all. We prefer pro-active, energetic people who engage with us - teach us new card games, cook us a typical dish from your area, discuss language & society...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Another part of our garden
Our vegetable garden - some years ago when it was in good condition :-(
With our dog at a local Roman ruin
Concert in the local church
View of our neighbourhood, with the sea in the distance




Host ref number: 526899739561