Come experience a cultural exhange with family of 6 on beautiful Cortes Island- gardening, cooking, playing in the sun! BC,Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    557

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy young family with 4 homeschooled children living on 8 lakefront acres with varied terrain that is dominated largely by bluff and forest with largely unimpeded southern exposure around the main house. We are carving out spaces to be able to more fully homestead and would love your help in this process.

    We are experienced volunteers and hosts. In 2015 we lived in New Zealand in an intentional community called Tui and during that time we hosted multiples people in our home continuously- it was wonderful! We live on a family property located on Hague Lake on beautiful Cortes Island.

    The Property and Accommodation:

    There is clothing optional beach access on our property as we are located on the lakefront. The accommodation includes a newly renovated open space with bed, shelving and tea station inside an older trailer accompanied by an outdoor kitchen on the attached covered deck. Nearby about 25m is a composting toilet and outdoor shower deck amidst the old growth cedar trees. You can sleep in the trailer but in the summer most people prefer to camp. Additional lakefront cabin accommodation is available at times as well. We do not have wi-fi access at our home but it is available close by in the "town" of Manson's.

    Other perks- You are welcome to borrow our boats to get there by water (about 5 min kayak paddle, then 5 min walk) across the lake. Walking is about 15 min, hitching is super easy, or via bike it is about 7 min (we have bikes for lending). It is about 1.5 km away to the cafe, natural food co-op, Friday market, etc located in Manson's Landing.We also have a sauna we fire on a weekly basis for you to enjoy.

    Please contact us to clarify any of the above or to see if we might be a good fit for one another. Cortes is a truly wonderful place to check out and we hope to be able to introduce you to this magical place we call home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our location is very unique, especially as a window into West Coast design, lifestyle and culture. We use many "frutis of the earth" in our day to day living. We have lived in multiple countries ourselves and love the opportunities sharing our home and space with folks form other cultures provides.

  • Help

    Help

    We are developing a family owned property to provide food and sustenance for our family and guests - and are doing so through a permaculture lens. Caleb is trained in the Soil Food Web and is happy to teach a class about these practices during their stay. We are establishing new terraced gardens near our home this spring and have a few other new projects on the go including: building a new compost system (NOW COMPLETED), a new shelter for rabbit breeding, building of a new hoop house area to facilitate more hot weather crops. We have a few laying hens (and will be getting a new lot this summer), worms for vermiculture composting, and work in a small orchard that we have been revitalising and planting new trees, berries, hops and grapes. Additional projects include: mushroom cultivation on the land (Caleb is also trained in this) and creating some floating gardens on the lake itself.

    Projects are based on the skill sets of the folks visiting at the time and our work schedules. Additional work time can involve hanging out with our family (including our kids) and participating in making things/ selling at the local farmer's market. In our other hosting situations people loved being with our children and this worked quite well for us. We keep it balanced between gardening and kid time and are receptive to your input. Our kids love sports, art, music, and dance.

    Some recent folks said we should have something explicit about the amount of work, etc. We ask for 5 hours a day 5 days a week. We are flexible if folks want a different arrangement and appreciate flexibility if we are having a particularly big day and need extra help. We allow for free time to enjoy your surroundings and folks have told us that they really appreciated the balance of the experience we provide here.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private accomodation with shared kitchen for folks in a renovated trailer. There is wifi at the trailer as of May 2017. The main kitchen is located outside on the deck of the trailer. We take turns cooking meals depending on the comfort level of our guests cooking for large groups. Everyone participates in mealtime in one way or another- prepping, helping watch kids if Jeramie (the mom) is cooking, clean up, etc. Food is a very important aspect of our lives and we are told it is quite tasty. Breakfast is self catered with groceries we provide. Other basics are also rpovided should we mutually decide to eat separately.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 286875683616