Help on a farm near Tromsø, Norway. Learning norwgian way of farming-life.

Country

Norway

Favourited 761 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    171

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living at our farm only 25 min from the city of Tromsø. Our children are born in 07-08.

    We have 70 sheeps, 2 dogs, 5 horses at our own and totally 19 at the stable, and some small animals. The summer of 2016, we opened a cathotell.
    Anders is an full time farmer and June work beside the farm, and it would be great with some helping hands and a smiling positiv person.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot about animals, farming life, routines and things that suddenly happens. Being a part of the working team and working alone.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We always have some building projects and a lot of different task that is needed to be done

    The work is quite diverse on the farm, and a workaway guest could help us with such thing as taking care of the animals:
    Feed the sheeps and look after them when they get lambs (in May).
    Move the sheeps up in the mountain for their summer stay (in late June).
    Working in our cathotel every morning and evening (all year, specially holidays)
    Collect the sheeps in the mountain and bring them back to the farm (in September).
    Feed the horses and clean the stables.
    Harvesting gras for production of hey and other field work.
    And of course many other things that has to be done on a farm.

    We would be very happy for some help :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a big room over our stable where you will sleep and can rest if you need a break. All meals will be in our house around our big table. Most of the time we are more than 4 people around the table.

    Cleaning of your accommodation and the shared facilities is expected as a part of the team.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a lot of mountain in our area and if you like hiking this is a good place to be in the summer and the winter. But there are a lot of other things to do as well.
    Cycling in nature or on the road
    Riding a horse
    Walking on the beach
    Birdwatching
    Moose watching
    Moosehunting in the Autumn (go with the hunting team)
    Boat trips
    Go to the cinema in the city
    Spending time in the city
    Visit museums
    Whalewatching
    Aurora borealis

    And a lot of other things :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)








Host ref number: 524851367215