Come and help on our organic dairy farm in the countryside outside Varde, Denmark



Favourited 258 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Hello we are Alderik and Ann-Louise. We are a Dutch/Danish bilingual family in our 40'ties with 3 young children (8,8 and 3) and 2 cats in the house.
    We run an organic dairy farm with 120 cows, wich we bought in the beginning of May 2017, the farm has been organic since the 1980'ties parts of it is in need of a bit of tender love and care, we would like to be selfsufficient with both vegetables and meats, so we have lots of both small jobs and long term projects that we would like to make come true.

    We enjoy meeting people from other cultures, hearing good stories, having a bonfire in the summer evenings, or sit cosy by the woodburning stowe in the winter, eating good food, getting up with the birds to spend time with the cows.

    We are non smokers and a low scent householde due to allagies, so please no smoking or perfume in the house this also include perfume in deodorant)

    Please no smokers! we know you are all lovely people, because we have had a lot of guests that turned out to be smokers after all. But we are allergic and its still a problem even though you only smoke outside.
    For working holiday participants: Yes it's possible to have your address here and stay here while you're application is being processed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about farm animals, milking, vegetable growing, cooking, baking and how it's like beeing part of a family in Denmark, we also offer help with improving language skills in English and Danish.

  • Help


    Special skills or experience with animals is not required, but you must be interested in working with animals.

    Tasks can be helping with the milking, feeding the young calfs, taking the cows to the fields, cleaning the stable, caring for the pets, cooking, cleaning, making a no digg vegetable garden, weeding around the buildings, gardening, painting and other work on the old 1880'ties farmhouse or our future guesthouse for workaways and family.

    At the moment we have a schedual so everybody gets to take part in the daily stablework/milking.

    A list of small and bigger projects we aim to finish during spring/summer 19

    Deep cleaning of the stable

    Painting the outside of the old farmhouse
    Making a new terrace in the garden
    Preparing more beds for the vegetable garden and planting it. (in progress)
    Fencing the fields (ongoing)
    Making a good compost system

    Autumn/Winter 2019/20
    Reparing old windows in the old stable
    Renovation of the grund floor of the guesthouse (New kitchen, floors and sealings)
    In the main house painting kitchen/living room, entré and stairs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Danish, Friesian, Dutch, English, some German, Italian and French

  • Accommodation


    We have 2 guest rooms with bedding and towels provided in the old farmhouse, where we live, the house has one shared toilet and one bathroom.
    You will be eating all meals with the family, we like homemade, often organic food and cakes, often we make homemade bread and yoghurt on a weekly basis, but for busy days we might opt for easy solutions, you are welcome to take part in the cooking and baking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the countryside of beautiful southwest Denmark, close to the busy main road and with nature all around, there's owls/falcons nesting in the barn and salmon in the stream (we have fishing rights). In the nearby city of Varde (population 15000) there is a train station and lots of shops, its 30 minutes to the sea and 20 minutes to Esbjerg / 40 minutes to Billund airport and LEGO land.

    If you like Vikings there's 30 minutes to Bork Vikinge harbor with live people in the summer

    Its possible to borrow bikes and an old car with manual gear (you have to have a drivers licens and pay for the gasolin yourself)

    Rubberboots is a must if you want to work in the stable, we do have most sizes and are happy to buy your size for our collection 😁
    We also have coveralls in m, l and xl
    apart from that just bring cloths you don't mind getting dirty, like t-shirts, jeans and sneakers depending on the season.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Bea is watering the seedlings
Family trip in the tractor
Picking mushrooms
The owls in our barn up close as they were getting ringmarked
Taking the cows to the fields

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 524486916663