Help with DIY and maintenance on a vintage Chris Craft yacht on Lake Travis, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have loved boating all my life, and now I'm living on a boat. This is my second wooden Chris Craft. I have also done what's called the great loop (6,000 miles around the eastern US by boat). I've sailed the greek islands and the coast of Turkey. My next adventure will be exploring the Portugal coast.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn what it takes to maintain and live on a vintage wooden yacht. The art of caring for classic wooden yachts is a dying art and we would like to share these skills with others in hopes that more people continue to care for these beautiful vessels and, therefore, more of these vessels survive. If not properly cared for, wood rots. so learn how to properly maintain the bottom, the hull (sides), and the top deck ... three totally different techniques. Live with me on Lake Travis in Austin, Texas, and experience lake life at its finest. See if living aboard a boat is something that you would enjoy doing. A great opportunity for a temporary trial. Learn how to safely navigate and dock a 50 ft boat. Fall is the perfect weather for the lake. It's cooled off from the intense summer heat, but the lake stays warm after it's been heated up by the summer sun. There is also a beach club, swimming pool, and several nature walking trails within walking distance. Someone with woodworking or carpenter experience could maybe even teach me a few tips and tricks.

  • Help

    Help

    I live on a 1967, 50 ft Chris Craft. There are two bedrooms, each with two beds (4 beds total) and two bathrooms. The boat is 100% mahogany stem to stern. I have some fall projects, but I also have an injured knee that keeps me alone from making as much progress with these projects as I'd like, and could use a little help. What I would like is to find someone that knows a bit about varnishing, woodworking, and home improvement projects. Things on the list that I could use help with for this fall are varnishing the caprails, oiling the teak deck, replacing some trim in front of the windshield, staining and varnishing a portion of the wheelhouse, touching up some chipped paint on the hull, there's a new sink for one of the bathrooms, etc. Someone to help hold the other end of something, pass tools when I'm in a difficult-to-reach place, and help tip the varnish when time is of the essence (normally, rolling and tipping varnish is a two-person job). You can learn the proper way to care for and maintain a classic wooden vessel and see if living aboard a boat is something you might like to pursue. The boat is powered by two ford 427 engines, and I have one that needs a fuel line replaced and another that needs the distributor cap tightened or replaced.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to learn more Portugese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own room with two beds and your own half bath. The two bedrooms are separated by a galley, a dinette, and a living room. The boat has all the modern conveniences that any home has. There is swimming right off the bow to relax and cool off. And occasionally, we will take the boat out on the lake. I'm on a restrictive diet right now, but twice a week on weekends, I will prepare a nice lunch or dinner. Fridays, I will go to the store and get groceries like eggs for breakfast along with fruit and veggies to snack on throughout the week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off, you can explore Austin, Texas or the Texas Hill Country. There is weeks worth of exploring that can be done. San Antonio is 2 hours away, Dallas is 3 hours away, and Houston is about 3.5 hours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    No cats though, I'm allergic.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day, 4 days a week - or 8 to 16 hours a week, whichever you prefer.


Host ref number: 524271581146