Help with our new home on a wonderful piece of land near Berlin, Germany




Favourited 11 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  • Description


    We are a couple living in a small town in East Germany, 80 km southwest of Berlin.

    We have just moved to an old house which we just bought, together with a huge piece of land. This place is the fulfilment of our dreams, with lots of space and silence. The house and all the barns need quite some fixing, and at different seasons, we have lots of fruit: blackberries, peaches, apples, walnuts etc.
    But we take it easy (I hope) and want to enjoy the place as much as possible - next to all the work.

    We are both freelancers and regularly working in Berlin (one at the TV and the other doing improvisation theatre), so there will be days when only one of us is at home or you will even be on your own. So spending time on your own should not be a problem to you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To be honest, we are total newbies here and don´t know exactly what to say.

    Having bought this house and piece of land, I am going to fulfil a very old and huge dream and I am really happy that I have not let go of that dream. So I can offer motivating you to not let go of your deapest dreams..
    You can learn what life in the east-german countryside can look like. Older people who have lived in different political systems can surely tell lots of interesting stories. Then there is a growing alternative scene of younger people moving to the countryside and looking for a simpler way of life.

  • Help


    We generally need help with renovating our house. Could be painting walls and ceilings, building shelves and furniture. If you have any other skills such as working with wood, renovating old windows and doors, that´s wonderful. Also, there is lots of stuff to do in the garden, during different seasons, we have tons of fruit to process: apples, blackberries, peaches, plums, walnuts. So if you like to make jam or other jummie things, thats wondwrful. We simply dont have time for the fruit this year.

    If you feel like going shopping and preparing food, that´s lovely.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, English, Dutch, French

  • Accommodation


    This is still kind of improvised: you can sleep either in a tent (with 3 hectares beatiful nature around it) - or in one of the rooms in the house which still might be full of cardboard boxes, or you can prepare an old caravan (which is not in a very good shape) for sleeping.

    Also, we have a tenant living upstairs, a man in his seventies, who has lived here all the time and who is kind of special..
    he might be a bit cautious with new people.

    So accomodation will be very adventurous, but we will be working on making the place cosy for you!
    Food - we are a couple of a vegetarian and a meat eater. Mostly we cook vegetarian, and sometimes my boyfriend will make some meat. We have a simple kitchen in the new house so cooking is possible.
    What´s a bit of a problem is the availability of Wifi, it's there but might be not very stable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our place is quite big, 3 hectares of nature, and it offers a wonderful view into the landscape. You can go for nice hikes through the forests or just hang in a hammock and enjoy the silence.
    Bad Belzig is a small town with about 10000 inhabitants. Not much happening, but there is an old castle and for wellness, there is a thermal bath with hot pools and sauna´s.
    Further, there are some interesting alternative projects around. Also, one of our friends is a regular workaway host, so we might meet with them sometimes, doing some bigger works altogether or barbequing.

    Our house is situated 5 minutes walk from the railway station - the hourly trains will take you to Berlin main station in exactly 60 minutes. Also Potsdam and Dessau are interesting towns reachable within less than an hour.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 522892446484