Helping on a self-sufficient homestead in Sardinia: harvesting olives, bee keeping and goat herding. Better known as what we call the "Good Life".



Favourited 900 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    Update March 2020! We are back home looking for help with the restoration and finishing touches in a historic house which will host our school and an art collective in the nearby village of Isili. We will be back in forth between the countryside and the village home and will need volunteers interested in following the day to day chores on the farm as well as ones that want to help with renovating, design and management of our project. Or a little bit of both...artists and builders will be most appreciated!

    Update Nov. 2019 We are in the States until mid January doing promotion work for the School. While we cant host anyone until we get back we are happy to provide assistance in your own travels through Sardinia or to coordinate for exchanges for next year when we get back.

    Update September 1st....We proudly announce the creation of our school. We will be bringing people here to Sardinia to experience first hand the Blue Zones, the natural way of living that stretches back milenna, the cooking secrets of italian grandmothers, bee keeping, all that has to do with life in the country. Come help us to improve theschool and you can share your own skills and learn others. In March our first group is arriving and there is much to do with planting, building work, firewood and of course lots of space for your own innovation and talent to find its place here.

    Update: October 2018

    As always there is plenty of work to do around. There is the big vegetable garden to tend to in October, preparing the rest of the provisions for this winter, cutting wood, doing some natural building work and if God gives us the gift this year of an olive harvest...there will be olives to harvest which will be the primary work to do here from the middle of October into November. Normally, we only accept people with previous gardening/outdoor/manual exprience but during this season if someone is really passionate about it and willing to learn we make exceptions. Write us!

    As Willie Nelson said: "One person can't change the world but one person with a message can."

    Seven years ago we decided to take a major step to bring about the change in our own lives that we wanted to see in life itself. We left behind two stable jobs, comfortable lives and went out on a limb to create a self-sufficenct life for ourselves. We decided to make life itself our first priority. We chose to give a voice to places like this, still uncontaminated where the most wholesome values of our societies are still honored and cultivated. We wanted to find a place where children can still ride bikes in the street and one can take a walk and find clean and healthy food to eat and uncontaminated landscapes. While we had all the heart in the world, we had to struggle and toil trying to learn on the run all that our ancestors had learned through milenna of society, culture and tradition. Sardinia seemed like the natural place for this project on account of the older generations (blue zone) who still preserve those precious bits of information that are fundamental in self sustainable living. As the years passed, we found that power and freedom came through getting in touch with this forgotten part of ourselves and it became natural to share it with those who we came into contact with.

    Why the need to create this project? The world is changing rapidly and even though we are taught that progress and change are positive and for our good, we believe that we need to learn from nature and country living in order to be complete human beings. We hold it true here at the school that there are things that are being lost with time which must be collected and transmitted not only to future generations but to this one as well. We are guided by values such as solidarity, group work, a reciprocal love for life, nature and living beings. We also believe in the importance of manual and physical work to keep us mentally and physically sharp in an age when our bodies are continually more and more sedentary. Through this physical work we hope to help our clients develop new skills or hone exisiting ones; in a world searching for meaning, for us that’s finding something that we love doing. Our meditation is our daily work that keeps us in step with the seasons and the earth.

    For seven years we have dreamed of the creation of a school to transmit the simple and rich way we live with others and with now we finally have a way to offer it to people all over the world. Through effort, experience and hard work we continue to expand the change we want to see in the world through our school.

    Sara is Sardinian and I was born in Virginia, USA. Through these years of hard work we have been blessed with our son Fabrizio Tashunka (almost) 4 and Julia who was is two and a half. It's been so rich sharing this life with them and they love it when other families come to share our space, learn and teach along with us. We have organized improptu schooling, there are lots of things to see in the surrounding area and you can find here a meaningul, pleasurable work exchange or a life changing experience.

    So know that coming here is beautiful, it's serene, the food is delicious but it's also hard work. We expect cleanliness, responsability and mutual respect. We hope that Workaway puts us in contact with volunteers who are interested to see for themselves what an alternative to a "normal" life might look like and maybe even be inspired to take the idea and make their own someday.

    The ideals sound good but wait now comes in the hard part, the work! What's part of the daily life here like? As part of the Big Experiment project as we call it, we grow our own food, milk our goats for milk, cheese and yogurt, make honey and dedicate ourselves to recuperating old traditions and crafts that are becoming ways of the past like basket making, weaving, manual labor, carpentry and much more. During the summer we grow vegetables in a large field and used to sell our produce in the markets of nearby villages. Now, we are studying ways to improve our production and get it out to clients who are looking for it. Sara's passions are weaving, art, bee keeping and education. If anyone is interested in learning how to weave don't miss out on this once in a life opportunity. I love bread making, wood working and all building work. I also love to tend, eat or propogate any and all the plants and trees that I come into contact with.

    Our dream is to give an example that its possible to live today without depending on a big corporation, exploiting mother earth or being trapped in a job that we don’t like, all you need is a little bit of creativity and a lot of hard work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is a lot to see and do locally, beautiful medieval villages, we have two bikes for our workawayers to take and explore this unexplored and off the beaten path part of the Mediterranean, on your days off you could spend the weekend at the beach, visit the beautiful wooded forests of Barbagia, explore for yourselves the ruins of the ancient Nuraghe civilization or go horseback riding in the wild Giara plateau, home to Europe's last wild horses. There is plenty to do and a great place to spend time for yourself connecting with nature and learning new skills or perfecting and sharing them with a couple that needs help and is doing something truly special with their lives.

  • Help


    Remember agricultural work can be strenuous! We need somebody that can keep up with us as we do our day to day work with our animals and with our agricultural produce. We want someone who is responsabile, can follow instructions and then do it on their own. An idea of a typical day's schedule would be to feed, milk and take the goats out, feed the chickens, clean the coop, spend the afternoon with us in the fields while we are in growing season during the summer and help with cleaning, building and gardening projects around the house. I won't lie, it can be very demanding but its satisfying and stimulates you working with your hands instead of your head, doing things manually, is good for the soul, mood and the body.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Arabic: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have a double room apartment with a private entrance and a bathroom/shower. Very comfortable and peaceful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 519756479219