Enjoy the Uruguayan countryside and be part of our ongoing project to make an ecological farm, Sauce, Uruguay

Country

Uruguay

updated  

Favourited 196 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi you all, we are Claudia and Rafael and our playful and curious 5 year old girl (Aissa), we have a home where, we can enjoy the Uruguayan country side and still have the comfort to have Montevideo one step away (35 km). We moved here recently and have 8 hectares of field and would like to start implementing a more natural and sustainable way of living, follow permaculture principles and be as self- sufficient as possible, while raising our daughter close to nature.

    We aim to be as self-sufficient as possible, the orchard and vegetable garden being run ecologically . The project embraces ecological vegetable growing, compost management, gardening, house maintanance, irrigation, cooking, housekeeping, animal care (we have two dogs tita and koko, cats, and koi fish), babysitting, language exchange, could be all part of your stay, based on your preferences and experience. We are in favor of an natural simple life, taking care of nature, of people and of sharing in a sustainable way.

    We are looking for open-minded, easy-going and flexible persons, who like being around people and to bring in their own ideas. We offer a beautiful location, an insight in our farming but also we are opened to your own suggestions and initiatives, we provide you of a friendly atmosphere. You will be a part of the family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At our place you can learn about nature, organic farming, gardening and planting, cooking new dishes, meditation, spanish with all of us, and Aissa and Rafael speak fluent English, and Claudia is intermediate and very good for practicing your Spanish, we offer you the possibility to integrate with the familily, experience the local way of living and culture, and to help, learn and apply a sustainable way of living balanced with nature.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with vegetable growing, doing the whole cycle from growing to harvesting (eco project) compost, general housekeeping, also, a lot of the help is needed into gardening and planting, maintenance around the house, cooking is also part of the help since we rotate it, could also be babysitting, language exchange as well as fish pond and animal feeding and care.

    And mainly of more habitual form, several tasks in the orchard and vegetable garden, according to the needs of the farm.

    We aim at having animals, like chickens so we can have our own ecological eggs. People with ecological farming, gardening, construction, maintenance skills is appreciated but also people with good will and disposition for good coexistence and harmony.

    Regarding our share areas, we rotate cleaning on the general areas, which are mainly the kitchen and the bathroom.

    We want volunteers who do not feel tourists, we are very flexible with the hours and the tasks and we will never ask for any extra minute of you time, but please note, we accept only people who are committed and we DO ask that the hours you dedicate to the daily tasks really count!

    We are very opened to share with the volunteers our home and everything necessary for a comfortable stay. We like volunteers that participate with the rest of the house and family, while being respectful at all times, including sensible housekeeping around the common areas, when not on duty. (VERY IMPORTANT you always have to clean after your own, and keep your sleeping and private area organized and tidy)

    We like good vibes and harmony in the house so that we all enjoy and can feel happy.

    Please note that it is a family farm, so things are not organized in formal sense, plans may change, new task may surface along the way, and things may be decided along the way..il "

    We want volunteers who want to experience and commit to a more natural way of living, aligned with nature and the resources that it offers us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As for food, we supply those that are served for the family, it consists of basic breakfast consisting of an egg OR cereal and yogurt OR bread and jam, also usually tea OR coffee. Everyday you can see what is available and help yourself, also we provide you free Mate to share in the mornings:).

    We usually rotate the lunch duty among us and the volunteers. For dinner, we usually eat very light, mostly a soup from the veggies available in the garden but sometimes we rotate as well, which works great for teaching eachother new dishes. As for drinking water, we have to buy it for the household and we supply it for an average drinking person, but if you are a heavy water drinker, we may ask you to buy your own depending on your needs or just serve yourself with the tap water.

    We try to share as much as possible during meal times, as it is a wonderful moment to share with the family.

    Normally you could have a room of your own apart from the main house, surrounded by trees and birds, however right now that room is occupied so you would stay in the main house, maybe sharing or alone. We offer comfortable accommodation on the whole top floor of the house (loft) with a very comfortable double bed, shared bathroom and hot shower, water well house supplied water, limited internet access (it is not allowed to be used during helping hours and we have rural internet so you can use it only during certain hours of the day agreed upon your arrival).

    Please if when you send your request you have any questions or inquiries about any of the above, do not hesitate to express them, we will be happy to answer them!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty things to see around the area and in Montevideo, the closest beach is about 30 min away by car, sometimes on the weekends we take tours. You can also relax around the farm and in nature, take advantage of the hamac or just chill around the koi pond..In the area you have the town about 15 minutes, you can borrow a bike and see the sorrounding area, have a walk in the field and nature,or local area or join us when we go there, also you have transportation available close by in the town directly to Montevideo or other parts of the country..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a reliable internet connection, if you work remotely and can help us with our own web design or virtual proyects, please let us know

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of space so you can park your own caravan or motorhome and share with us at the same time!

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    We have a couple of dogs and love animals, if you feel comofortable bringing your own, we welcome it

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.4)
















Host ref number: 519497487822