Help our family and learn about native plants and the alternative way of life near Melrose, South Australia.

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 192 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    .We live in a stone/ timber house built from recycled materials, and practice p/c , organic gardening. Have lots of varied fruits and veg ( no poison used on our land), also Australian native food plants...Botanical stuff
    Lili is from China, and loves to cook, so lots of Chinese meals , western also, our meals are a mix of meat & verg, happy to cater for veg, because we are some distance away from large shopping vegan meals can be problematic?so depending on individual needs this can be an issue,......Lili volunteers for the local ambulance& is an enrolled nurse .
    Next to Mt Remarkable Nat Pk, lots of bush walking/ bike riding/ swimming( we have pool)piano. sight seeing...One neighbour does pitalies in town once a week & another is a shaman if this is your thing.
    The kids Eve 11 & Bernie10, love to have visitors, as we live out of town, so you could be bugged by them.....We would really like people to fully engage with us and take the whole thing on board.
    Try to be self-suficent as best we can, have some kind of fruit all year round.... do preserving and dehydrating ... Have solar/ electricity and water /rain water only..........composting toilet/recycling
    Happy to try and teach visitors English/ Mandarin , and what ever else they want to know about what we are doing.
    We also have a small/old seaside shack on the western side of Spencers Gulf south of Port Augusta that we go to now and then to have time out, .....It over looks the water towards the Flinders Rangers............sometimes we collect rubbish along the beach/ take out the introduced cacti that has take hold over the last 50 years there/ reveg....plus renovations. . etc.
    Thanks for taking the time to read our profile, all the best with your journey.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get a good experience in some form of self-sufficency , how to grow a wide variety of plants in a arid environment, cooking- east & western styles,food preservation,recyling ,botany, and make a go of it. Help the environment with its regeneration of the land....Learn about Australian native plants and there uses as food/ medicine and more. How to build your own alternative home from recycled materials salvaged and reused.......
    Just learn all about our alternative way of life here in the Southern Flinders Rangers......
    Happy to help with English and Mandarin ......
    We will try and help you with what every your passion is, if we can?

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks will vary from season to season...... tending the garden/ orchards mulching, composting ,pruning, planting, propagation,watering ,harvesting fruit &veg..
    Helping with kids , reading /play/ art/ music( they play piano ) and tutoring them with maths/english/chinese.Eve11yo loves sewing/fashion.and does ballet/dance etcBernie 10yo likes board games, indoor soccer,lego etc.Cooking by all means, we would love to try other countries meals ,and yes you will lean from us about native food..All meals with family.
    Always something to do around the house to prep food/ clean etc. just the normal things.
    From time to time we build , usually it involves something with a roof to catch more precious rain water.........( we only have rain water so its a limited supply).... also general maintenance , like oiling all the timber out side on the house ( no paint there),
    If we go down to the seaside shack, then we may be do general maintenance on,take our cacti,collect plastic of of shore line,reveg.
    Depending on the season, we will plant out natives/ fire up small parts of our place , direct seed/ hand weed to keep the regeneration of the land moving forward....Its been pretty dry here for the past few years ,which makes it a challenge.
    Not that flash with computers , so yes need help with the some times, maybe?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English/ Mandarin

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    caravans X..(2)...Also have good tents if you like this kind of living .........all bedding etc provided , and have your own bathroom & toilet..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can show you around some of the Finders Rangers and suggest places to visit north and west of here, also pick up drop off from Wilmington, and High Way 1 Wilmington turn off (A1 & B56)(Winnanowie) ... between Pt Pirie & Pt Augusta...........(bus company to catch out of Adelaide is Premier/Stateliner, there are a few services a day......Also a Firefly bus out of Melbourne will connect in Adelaide.....(the turn off is 40 km from our place).Port Augusta is the cross roads N/E/S/W....sea,mountains and the edge of the out back.There is a lot of wild life here, living next to the national park its a mecca for that, no domesticated animals just nature.....
    We see i as a two way street, for both of parties to learn..........children fine....
    Only able to access Telstra or Optus with your phone here.So if you want to get internet/ phone etc you need to be tied to either of these carriers, otherwise its a no show......So it is essential that you have this access your self......Our internet is limited, and we have had people come and abuse our internet usage..( accessing code with out asking)............If we have excess at the end of the month you can use it then?

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week,flexible



















Host ref number: 518279195713