Help us sort our garden and a little work around the house in Surrey, BC Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple in our 50s, we live just outside the beautiful city of Vancouver, BC Canada in the city of Surrey. I am a part-time registered nurse and my husband is a carpenter working for the booming canadian movie industry.

    We live in a 3 story house on one acre in a small friendly community. Our daughter and her husband live in our basement suit, they have a large very friendly dog who is often upstairs with us. He feels he lives throughout the house and we love having him with us. He can be contained down in his own space when we are not home or do not want him upstairs.

    We are about 40 min. drive to downtown Vancouver and an hour by transit. We are also close access to beautiful White Rock beach and many other areas for hiking, shopping and exploring. We live about 30 min. drive to the USA border and about a 2 hr. bus ride to Seattle Washington. We are a quiet community that does not have stores or restaurants in walking distance but a 15 min. walk to the bus will give you access to many places to explore.

    We are a close and friendly family, often having family gatherings of Sunday night dinners or BBQs. We would love to host a couple or single volunteer to help us get our garden and yard ready for the summer. We have many small jobs that seem to have been put aside during our busy winter with a wedding and other work commitments.

    Please contact us if you are traveling in Canada and would like to see Vancouver and the surrounding areas and help us with some odd jobs. We would love to get to know you and host you in our house. We have a spare room up stairs with a queen bed and small bathroom for your use.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have done a lot of travelling ourselves and love to learn about the cultures of others. We love to share our home with others and give them tips on how to enjoy our beautiful city. We have done house exchange in the past to Switzerland and have gained great friendships through these experiences. Our daughter is travelling around the world for a year, she and her boyfriend have also joined up as volunteers to experience this great opportunity to learn about other cultures in people's homes. I think this is the best way to truly feel the culture and heart of an area. We feel opening our home as hosts to others will benefit both our volunteers and ourself as we learn about each other's cultures and Iives.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a large backyard that needs raking as well as tree and bush pruning, and general gardening. We have a deck which could use a bit of stain to spruce it up for the summer. We are renovating our laundry room and can always us assistance with household chores. As I hate to house clean, any help in that area would be most appreciated. I love to cook myself but would love to experience someone else's talents from the kitchen, especially on the days we both work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Spare room on the upstairs floor with a Queen bed and your own bathroom, (sink and toilet) Showering will have to be done in the family's main floor bathroom. We have a large yard with a deck. You would have access to the house and yard.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live out of the city more in a country area, so a 15 min. walk will take you to a bus that will then take you downtown Vancouver or to other closer communities with shopping and restaurants. We are 30 min. drive to White Rock beach and 20 min. to historic Fort Langley. We have 2 large shopping malls which again you would have to walk to the bus to access. We are a 30 min. drive to the USA border, and about a 2 hr. bus ride to Seattle Washington. We live about 2 hrs. drive to Whistler, and a 12hr. drive to Banff and Jasper. These areas can be accessed by bus or trains. I work 5 min. away from our local rapid transit, skytrain, and would be able to drop you close by and it would be a 30 min. train ride into the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Enjoying Barcelona Spain
Travelling in New Zealand
Our very friendly dog who lives downstairs with our daughter, he often spends his time up with us to give us cuddles. He gets along with all dogs and people.
Sailing on the BC ferries to Vancouver and the Gulf Islands.
View of Mount. Baker, located in the USA, from White Rock beach
Tofino, on Vancouver Island
Our family room, eating area and TV room.
Our back yard
sailing in the Gulf Islands, located between Vancouver and Vancouver Island.
Your accomodations
Lunch in White Rock


Host ref number: 181622446326