French-spanish unschooling family looking for some help with our 2 kids in Irun, Spain, between mountains and sea

Country

Spain

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're 4, my husband, Spanish, I, French, and our 2 kids, Alice, born in 2011, and Lucio, born in 2015. They don't go to school. We live near the Bidasoa, river who separate north Basque Country from south Spanish Euskadi, between the ocean and the Pyrénées. We're in a big flat, because we can be a lot of time in (I work much at home, and my kids love to play in the living room all day long). Our "schedule" moves many times, sometimes we travel a lot, and other times we stay a long time at home. We try to not eat animal products (I'm veggie), and live a life as respectful as posible to the planet (only one car, 2 bicycles, organic food, etc.) We like to meet other people to discover new cultures (we traveled with couch surfing, be welcome and wwoofing the 4 of us for 3 years).

    Somos 4, mi marido es funcionario, yo soy autónoma y nuestros 2 hijos de 3 y 7 años en aprendizaje libre ("escuela libre"). Vivimos justo en la frontera vasca, del lado español, entre el océano y las montañas. Vivimos en un piso grande, nuestros horarios laborables cambian todas las semanas, podemos quedarnos mucho tiempo en casa, como de repente salir mucho y viajar por vacaciones o formación laboral. Yo soy vegetariana, me gustaría quitarme también todos los lácteos y el gluten pero hasta ahora no lo he conseguido. Procuramos usar lo menos posible el coche que tenemos, tenemos bicis aunque no las usemos mucho tampoco. Somos voluntarios en una cooperativa de comida local y orgánica, nos gusta la música, somos bilingues (francés y español), con ganas de aprender más euskera (vasco).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think our family, and where we live, is ideal ^^! We are bilingual, we like to learn, teach, share, both food (especially vegetarian) and life philosophies, languages, readings, activities such as painting, clay, dance, singing, piano, guitar, flute. We have at hand all the sports you can imagine, since we have the Atlantic Ocean at 15 minutes, and the mountain on the other side, We like to walk, chat, make people discover what we like, and learn from it too. We have traveled in more than 12 countries, and we have lived in 3 at the moment. All the people who have come with couchsurfing in our house have been happy and I am in contact with former students of mine (I was a Spanish teacher for 7 years in France).

    Creo que nuestra familia, y donde vivimos, es ideal, jajaja ! Somos bilingues, nos gusta aprender, enseñar, compartir, tanto la comida (sobre todo la vegetariana !) como filosofías de vida, idiomas, lecturas, actividades como la pintura, arcilla, baile, canto, piano, guitarra, flauta. Tenemos al alcance todos los deportes que puedas imaginar, ya que tenemos el océano atlántico a 15 minutos, y la montaña del otro lado, Nos gusta pasear, charlar, hacer descubrir a la gente lo que nos gusta, y aprender de ella también. Hemos viajado por más de 12 países, y hemos vivido en 3 de momento. Toda la gente que ha venido con couchsurfing en nuestra casa ha quedado contenta y quedo en contacto con antiguos alumnos míos (fui profesora de castellano durante 7 años en Francia).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We educate our children "at home", that is, they learn freely, according to their interests and needs (You can read John Holt or André Stern to get an idea, if you do not know this type of accompaniment). Right now, we want to work with the 2 parents, and we can not be all that we should be available to help them in their learning (playing 95% of the time), so we could use a person who loves to play with the kids, teach them their passions, have the patience of being a few hours with children who can have strong emotions, while we can work outside or inside the house, and if you are interested / like, help me with my personal and work projects (I have to take care of 2 web pages, one for the organic store, another for my business of advising parents, caregivers and teachers in France, but it is something that I do not like very much and I always postpone this "computer" aspect of my life ... so my computer is full and very bad: S. This second option is optional, the main thing for us is to find someone you trust with which our children are comfortable to stay about 3-4 hours a day. Also i would like de share vegan cooking, without gluten, many times I don't have time or idea, but I've bought a great cooking book and I would like to cook with someone who have more experience than me :)

    Educamos a nuestros hijos "en casa", es decir que aprenden de manera libre, según sus intereses y necesidades (Podéis leer a John Holt o André Stern para haceros una idea, si no conocen este tipo de acompañamiento). Ahora mismo, queremos trabajar los 2 padres, y no conseguimos estar todo lo disponibles que deberíamos estar para ayudarles en sus aprendizajes (jugando el 95 % del tiempo), así que nos vendría bien una persona que le encanta jugar con los peques, enseñarles sus pasiones, tener la paciencia de estar unas horas con niños que puedan tener emociones fuertes, mientras podamos trabajar fuera o dentro de casa, y si le interesa / gusta, ayudarme con mis proyectos personales y laborales (tengo que ocuparme de 2 páginas web, una para la tienda ecológica, otra para mi negocio de asesora de padres, cuidadores y profesores en Francia, pero es algo que no me gusta mucho y siempre pospongo este aspecto "informático" de mi vida... así que mi ordenador está lleno y va muy mal :S. Esta segunda opción es facultativa, lo principal para nosotros es encontrar a alguien de confianza con la que nuestros hijos estén a gusto para quedarse unas 3-4 horas al día. Ah sí, y cocinar y ordenar la casa, tengo poco tiempo ni ideas para estas 2 cosas, pero necesito ayuda porque me gustaría mucho cocinar más crudo, vegano y sin gluten, y tener la casa más ordenada en plan "eficiente" (es un poco jaleo porque somos muy creativos y todas las cosas en casa se mueven constantemente !)

    Nous sommes une famille franco-espagnole, bilingue, en IEF, nous cherchons qqn qui aime jouer avec les enfants, cuisiner (végétarien), a le sens de l'organisation qui nous manque pour être plus cool dans notre quotidien (nous travaillons tous les 2, et les enfants demandent bcp d'attention car ils sont encore petits, nés en 2011 pour Alice, et 2015 pour Lucio). Nous aimons les personnes motivées, actives, drôles, dynamiques, ouvertes, qui puissent nous permettre de souffler quelques heures tous les jours (cela peut être 2h seulement, mais même le week-end).

    !!! Régime alimentaire végétarien!!! :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    apartamiento en una pequeña ciudad, 3 habitaciones, 2 cuartos de baño, muy luminoso con vistas a la montaña.
    Big flat, 3 rooms, 2 bathrooms with bath and shower, big living room.
    grand appart à la frontière, vous pourrez avoir votre propre chambre et partager la salle de bain avec les enfants.
    Large apartment on the border, you can have your own room and share the bathroom with the children.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My English is not very good, but for me it's important to get all clear about your wishes and needs, and ours, to enjoy all of us, we can send us email before to be sure everything is allright.

    It is important for me to discuss before by tel. or mail to see if we are on the same wavelength :)

    Para mí es muy importante hablar bien antes sobre sus expectativas y manera de vivir para ver si coincidimos, para pasarlo lo mejor posible por ambos lados.

    C'est important pour moi de discuter avant par tél. ou mail pour voir si nous sommes sur la même longueur d'ondes :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    wifi

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 517273461982