1 / 5
new host  

Join our family and help with gardening and DIY at our small eco-lodge in Cuajiniquil, Costa Rica

  • Costa Rica
  • Favourited 30 times
  • Last activity: 31 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Hello, hello! Welcome to our profile. We are a little family of 4: my two children, our dog and myself. We have rolled up our sleeves and embarked on an adventure to restore our family project–an eco-lodge. The idea is to create a space where people can come to disconnect for a while from the tribulations of everyday life, and simply enjoy the charm that nature has to offer.

    We want to create a type of sanctuary, both for wildlife and for our guests.

    We had started this journey back in 2021, but unfortunately due to a tropical storm, our efforts were washed away as the property had been left in a very bad state. Nevertheless, adversity has come baring new opportunities!

    Keep in mind, this is a really rustic place, tucked in a small town in Guanacaste! We may not be a 5-star hotel at the moment, but we certainly have both the heart and spirit!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living an authentic rustic experience in the Costa Rican countryside. Our workawayers will have the opportunity to visit several of the most beautiful beaches in our country, as well as being able to visit several nature reserves and volcanoes! Here, we not only offer adventure, but also an opportunity to learn about hospitality, green lifestyles, and green foundations.

    We provide a space full of different flora and fauna. Here you will be able to meet different animals such as monkeys, parakeets, toucans, sloths, raccoons, as well as a great variety of small insects and much more–counting the stray dogs and cats that we take care of!

    On the other hand, Cuajiniquil is an excellent place to practice your Spanish, as not many speak English. And if what you are looking for is to learn Spanish, no problem, I am a teacher!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Note: We require a minimum 3 week commitment.

    We are looking to make big changes and restore this beautiful place, so energy and enthusiasm is a must!

    We need passion, willingness, creativity and a love for nature. We are looking for people with strong commitment, pro-activity, who have had at least some experience in maintenance and/or management in general, or who are willing to learn about it.

    Day-to-day tasks consist of gardening, construction projects, painting, managing potential guests, cleaning, and laundry. These will not necessarily be done every day.

    Other important qualities to volunteer with us are:

    –Must speak either English or Spanish.
    –A sense of adventure.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    My daughter is a big fan of Japanese culture; she speaks N5 level (which isn't much) but she'd love to be able to exchange languages and practice. My son, on the other hand, is learning Russian. He is also interested in being able to make an exchange. As for me, I'd love to be able to practice my French! Of course, the languages we'd be able to teach would be either Spanish or English (Fluent).

  • Accommodation


    It is likely that you will be sharing accommodation with other potential volunteers if there is high occupancy. This space features 3 bunk beds and 2 single beds, a shared bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen (meals will not be provided) for your use. It is possible for you to have your own room should there be minimum occupancy.

    In your spare time, you will be able to make use of all that the property has to offer–public areas, swimming pool (if it's available) and terrace.

    We have 10G Wi-Fi, but it is only available in the public area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in a relatively touristy beach town, so there are plenty of activities you can enjoy. There are a wide variety of beaches in the area, as well as natural parks and reserves. There are opportunities for kiteboarding, rafting, snorkeling and fishing. And if you are interested in knowing a little more about other cities or towns, there are buses available with different routes.

    Should you have an activity in mind, feel free to let us know and we can arrange a trip!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet connection is fast, but due to us living in a rural zone, it can fail sometimes.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space where you can park your vehicles.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Absolutely! So long as they're well-behaved and friendly, we welcome all type of furry friends.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Host ref number: 516812661644



Help at a regenerative goat dairy farm in Alajuela, Costa Rica
Help at our hotel in an authentic little city in the mountains, Turrialba, Costa Rica