Inner-city Brisbane home - help out with building, cleaning, maintenance and gardening, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a healthy living, eating, environmentally-friendly loving family. I am making this profile for my mum who has her own business work in psychology, non-violent communication and works a lot from home. She has a hernia and is not supposed to do any heavy lifting anymore. The house has got a bit in dis-repair and there is lots of general maintanence and fixing things that need doing. Also gardening needs some help with. There's lots of cleaning to be done too.

    I am mid 30s live in the same city and will come visit and help link you in to some interesting events, etc while you're in town. I did some workaway projects whilst travelling in Europe a few years ago... so know what it's like from the other side! My younger sister in her 20s has been living at home but is working away for a project currently.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Can tell you about lots of indi arts events in town. Theatre, music, art. Connected to all this scene.

  • Help

    Help

    There's a range of stuff that needs doing so get in touch if you have skills in any of the following areas!
    House maintenance: cleaning gutters, fixing broken window hinges, a few floor boards need replacing.
    Building: if you know how to build structures out of wood let us know :)
    Gardening: pulling weeds, creating garden beds, cutting back old trees.
    IT support: website updating (wordpress), photo and video editing.
    Cleaning: we want to clear out under the house and make it a more functional, useful area! There's lots of flood damaged stuff that needs cleaning and sorting, etc.

    We are okay to be flexible about when you do the hours just let us know in advance what is your preference (ie because of the time differences in your country you want to keep the morning free to skype, or you would prefer to do two extra long days and have an extra day completely free to do another trip to the beach or something). We keep a timesheet for the time you work - so you can sign in/ out when you're doing work and so we can all keep track of the hours - as per the workaway standards a week's stay should contribute 25hrs work. With the timesheet method everyone is clear about how many hours have been completed and how much are left to do.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (one of us is intermediate in Portugese and has a bit of Spanish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small private room (but with some other furniture etc still stored in there). Could accomodate a couple/ two friends travelling together. Queer friendly :)
    No smokers.
    We are a mainly vegetarian house but if you want some meat we won't stop you (just let you know which pots are okay to use for it).
    We like people who keep themselves tidy and keep their things in the room and not left around the house. We have enough other things we are trying to clean and sort out without other random things of visitors left scattered around during your stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very close to the heart of Brisbane city. Either a 10min bus ride, 20mins by bicycle (which you could borrow) or about an hour's walk. There's always something to do in Brisbane! Bands, community events, festivals and easy to find free activities to do. If you know how to fix a bike we have one you could use if you can change the breaks. There is a little park with a creek you can walk along just 5mins walk away and we are a 5min walk from shops.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hours a week (every 7 days)

Backyard
Host ref number: 516124483244