Help with gardening and in the yard in British Colombia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 463 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    317

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are now closed for the season. We will be looking for volunteers in April 2020

    Come hangout in BC by a lake....

    Massey the llama needs a short walk each day and our garden needs weeding!
    Accommodation is in a small international youth hostel in Shuswap Lake BC, Canada
    The hostel dorms on in Cabooses . We are right on the water at the base of Squilax Mountain. There is lots of hiking in the area as well as canoeing, and wildlife viewing.
    Come and experience a campfire by the water, stargazing, eagle and beaver watching.
    The hostel has a small grocery store featuring local and organic groceries.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn about the local area as well as meeting fellow travelers. The hostel is located in First Nations area. At the hostel, you can check off the following from your Canadian Bucket List: Campfire, star gazing, Northern Lights, canoeing (free at the hostel), pancakes with real maple syrup, wildlife viewing (bald eagles, opsprey, beavers, bats, salmon, trout, loons, big horn sheep....)

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers work will vary from animal care, gardening and yardwork. We do have some projects on the go as well: creating a yoga outdoor space , At times throughout the summer, help is needed a local community events such a native drumming and dance competition

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a shared room (with another staff or volunteer). Volunteers have use of kitchen and hostel common space. We also sometimes have a cabin by the water (no power or running water) available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hostel has free use of a canoe. Visit a local organic brewery, native cultural centre or just hang out in nature.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We would love having digital nomad but our internet is not the greatest. We have good cell service if someone has their own data plan

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space in our treed parking lot next to our main building. There is showers and bathroom to use

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours / 5 days a week, for accommodation only















Host ref number: 514364539812