To do carpentry/building/gardening projects on our land near Duncan, in the Cowichan Valley, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    74.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My partner and I steward a lovely acreage, with our home and a yurt and our two Standard Poodles, in the Cowichan Valley. In the spirit of social permaculture and caring for the land, we seek to create a loving experience for those that live or visit here.

    Our preferred workawayers are a couple (more than one person), staying for 7 to 14 days. We generally give the couple projects to work on together. Options to stay longer for the right fit.

    We live about 10 minutes (by car, there is minimal bus service) to downtown Duncan. It is a 3 hour drive to Tofino with its majestic beaches on the west coast of Vancouver island, 1 hour drive to Victoria and a ferry to the USA, a short ferry ride to quaint Salt Spring Island and very close to the Cowichan River (swimming and tubing) and Cowichan Lake. Mt. Prevost, with its beautiful views of the entire area, is close by. And also a short drive to Port Renfrew on the west coast of Vancouver Island with its Avatar Grove (old growth trees), huge beach, Botanical beach and deep sea fishing.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You enjoy performing a variety of interesting and unusual projects around our property, all intended to improve the "sanctuary" quality of the land.

    Our particular interest is in the dynamics of social permaculture along the lines, or philosophy, of Tamera in Portugal. And you will learn about Being Held gatherings, which we hold in the yurt on our property.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for travellers who have some skill in building/carpentry for these projects (and more):

    - building a pump house.
    - building a walk way roof.
    - fence repairing/building
    - building a deck.
    - refitting composting toilets (new seat/bucket design).
    - painting/staining.
    - cleaning garden beds and other land/garden cleanup.
    - doing a bit of finish carpentry work and painting inside and outside the main house.
    - cooking meals and cleaning.
    - looking after the dogs.

    If any of the above fits your skills, please let us know.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guest room with a private entrance, full bathroom, wifi and a queen bed. We also have room for a trailer or other mobile accommodation. Bedding in the yurt is an option. Meals will be provided in the main house with Michael and I. We can accommodate gluten free, vegan and vegetarian, however animal proteins will also be prepared.

    Our local area lacks regular public transportation. Since we live in the country, couples who have or rent a car for their travels are best.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Cowichan Valley is a lovely area full of farmers, wineries and artists connected to the land. From beautiful lakes and rivers to swim in, to the ocean beaches and bays, there is lots to appreciate about country and seaside living. Duncan, known as the City of Totems, is also home to the largest First Nations community in B.C. We also live close to Tofino and Port Renfrew, two beautiful west coast towns that have very spectacular beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours per day, every day, or 8 hours every other day. with 2 days off




Host ref number: 512936621785