Extra help needed in our busy family life near Inverness in the Highlands of Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 396 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    697

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Myself and my partner Ali live on the Black Isle 5 miles from Inverness. We run a caravan site and some self catered accommodation. We have two daughters. Anoushka is nearly 4 years old and Tabitha is 7 months old. We live beside the family farm. We really enjoy hosting volunteers and sharing our lives with people and really appreciate the extra help. We are close to Inverness so an ideal place for exploring and we are happy to help in anyway we can.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I hope people will enjoy being thrown in to a busy family and being part of it. You will meet other young people. There are plenty of experiences depending on your interest including horse riding, kyaking, walking, socialising and visiting our estate near Ullapool on the west coast. We spend most of our time together and I like to include all people staying with us with everything we are doing. Its a brilliant chance to improve your English and there are lots of skills you can learn and build your confiedence doing.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Work for volunteers is very dependant on time of year, weather and what is going on when you stay. As long as you are flexible you will be fine! We need help in the house with cooking, cleaning and decorating. Outside there is gardening work and general maintenance. Help looking after our daughters is always appreciated so i can get on with things. They are learning French (Ali is French but I don't speak it) so French time, as we call it, with her would be brilliant. Basically there is all sorts of things but it just depends on people's strengths and interests but you would need to be happy with cleaning, painting and sand pits! We also live on the family farm . At this time I am not doing as much work on it due to being so busy with the caravan park as well as a new baby so its the farm you are mainly intrested in it may not be the right place for you. I am happy to include people in farm work when i am doing it though. You are also welcome on the farm if it's of interest. It's a mixed (cattle, sheep and crops) organic farm.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a bed room in the house next to us. Everything is provided and we want you to be happy and comfortable. We eat all meals together and socialise together so although there are two houses we live our lives together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are based in a rural location on the shores of the Beauly Firth. It is a famous dolphin, wildlife and bird watching spot and we have kayaks you are welcome to borrow. Inverness is 5 miles away where there are all the usual shops, resteraunts pubs etc and bus and train links. We are 20 minutes from Loch Ness and plenty of tourist attractions. It is also the perfect base to explore the Highlands and head West. We are very flexible on time off and happy to help with lifts to buses if you don't have a car. We also have bikes you can borrow. We also have an Estate just outside Ullapool where my sister lives and a great spot for hill walking. Ullapool is a beautiful fishing village with lots going on. There is plenty to do and enjoy depending on what your interests are.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 154799489911