updated  

Experience Italian family life, cook, share your cuisine and gardening skills by the sea in the beautiful Cilento, Italy

  • Favourited 350 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Jack (47-English), Maria (38-Italian) and little Nicola (1.5 years old). We met on a musical and cycling trip around New Zealand in 2011. Now we are living in Maria’s homeland – in Santa Maria di Castellabate in the wonderful Cilento National Park – where Maria works as an architect and Jack works as an agent for writers, podcaster and musician. Maria designed and built our house and Jack did most of the work on the garden. Our house is in the heart of Cilento national park in a beautiful countryside and stunning sea view, 5 km away from a beautiful sandy beach and a lovely traditional Italian villages.
    Cilento is home to several UNESCO world heritage sites, and two archaeological parks- Paestum and Velia. The archeological site of Paestum boasts one of the largest and best-preserved ancient Greek temples in the world, dating back to 6th and 5th centuries bc. Typical Italian old town (5km ) Cilento's rugged coastline is a paradise for nature lovers and hikers you can go from siling to snow in a few hours. In short, there is certainly no shortage of things to do around here!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an Italian-english family that gladly help those who join us to learn the Italian language and culture. We are very close to kilometer-zero lifestyle. We buy cheese and milk (sometimes) from a lady who keeps goats nearby. Meat from the local farmer. Wine and olive oil from friends who produce it. (Although we are not vegetarians, we don’t eat a lot of meat and cook vegetarian meals regularly)

    Jack has trained as an Ayurvedic practitioner and knows many lifestyle tips, such as daily yoga and meditation which you are welcome to join in with. Maria is a member of the local sailing club and you can join her on the ocean. While Jack is a cyclist and goes on long climbs up into the mountains.
    We like going on trips, organizing outings with friends and family. Whoever comes to stay with us will be welcome in all these activities!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people who want to spend time with us, show us their culture, let us know their language and share different moments of daily life, supporting us in preparing healthy meals for the family. And someone to help in the garden. Couples are welcome.

    We would like people who enjoy a healthy lifestyle and, of course, children. Nicola goes to kindergarten on weekdays from 9 to 4.30 pm, but while he's away we need help with meal prep — Italian and international meals. Our dream guests are people who can become one of the family, with whom we can also share moments of leisure, walks in nature, time on the beach, helping in the garden. In short, we need someone who can help with the daily management of our child and with home and garden.

    We imagine a collaboration with flexible timetables for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a large room for exclusive use on the ground floor, heated, with access to the garden. There is a bathroom available adjacent to the room. The house is covered by a wi-fi network

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Cilento national park is a very interesting area. If you’re the outdoor type then it has everything you could imagine. Whether it’s hiking, biking, rock climbing, swimming, exploring, the area has everything. Just Google ‘Cilento’.

    The Mediterranean diet originated just down the coast and when you are with us we can share tips for a sustainable lifestyle. The garden is already producing food..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Yes we have a good quiet place for working

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large parking area.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 512158599755

Feedback (5)



Feedback






Eco permaculture sanctuary in Sicily, Italy
Help us in our farmhouse, with gardening or animals and exchange cultures near Tortona, Italy