Help us create a cultural community in Benson, AZ. USA

Country

United States

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We have a lovely fixer-upper property in Benson (Southeastern Arizona) one mile north of the Amtrak train depot and Interstate 10 and 30 minutes from the Tucson International Airport. We are within half an hour drive to Kartchner Caverns, Patagonia Lake, Parker Canyon Lake, Colossal Caves, Bisbee and Tombstone. Tucson is a 40 minute trip to town.

    Although certainly in its beginning stages, our property has incredible potential. The vision is to create a green quirky/artsy Airbnb pet-friendly compound as well as a retreat for artists, writers, musicians, poets, yogis and world travelers. The property has a large pond with cottonwood and mesquite trees and a natural spring and a heated salt water swimming pool and spa (that has an attached cantina in dire need of some love also:)). There are four buildings needing renovations and the vision is to create Taos/Santa Fe style architecture and finishes using papercrete. We are also planning to have a large organic garden.

    There are many projects needing to be done, including: green construction (we are very interested in learning more about papercrete), building walls, applying stucco, setting up grey water, planting food, fixing the pond (it won't hold water), landscaping, roofing and anything else you can come up with, it needs :)....My boyfriend Eric and I are pretty handy. We are currently in the process of lovingly renovating the main home, which is constructed of burnt clay adobe.

    As to me, my name is Kareva and I am well-traveled and love to meet people from all over. I moved to the USA from Tahiti, French Polynesia and have ties to France,the UK, New Zealand, Australia and Spain. Eric and I love to host. We are quite the chefs. In exchange for your help and stories, we will provide dinner. We offer comfortable accommodations, hi-speed WIFI, a fridge, laundry facilities and comfort. We also have plenty of lovely camping spots if you prefer, or place to park a camper. You will also have access to bicycles (town is 3-5 minutes away). Let us know your specialty (building, plumbing, electricity, renovations, etc) - or if you can help in any way, and have the desire to learn, we can teach you some basic renovation skills and tool use :)...

    We have lovely well-behaved dogs and plan on having livestock in the near future (horses, most likely)...and this will happen sooner than later if a four-legged being crosses our path that needs a home. We do not have cats. We are non smokers.

    We are progressive and kind. We would love to meet you and have you take part in our vision to turn this property into a beautiful sanctuary. We are looking forward to hearing from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am French Polynesian and have lived in the United States for four decades. I have moved in and out of different worlds and am very familiar with cultural codes in the US and how they work. I am also knowledgeable about the area...we are close to the border of Mexico and many other wonderful attractions, state parks, vineyards, lakes and places to hike, eat and enjoy gastronomy. I am well traveled and love to break bread with others and share insights and stories.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello Travelers! We love to meet new people and work together on projects! We love cultural exchanges, meeting people from all over and sharing stories and laughs over a glass of wine. We have many projects to do...a little overwhelming since Eric and I are Do-It-Yourselfers :)....Sooooooo....if you can help with any of, but not limited to, the following, here goes: Making papercrete, building, laying flooring, carpentry, roofing, digging, plumbing, weeding, landscaping (the vision is to have a Senoran desert meets Zen garden meets Polynesia type vibe), mural art, dog grooming, gardening, pond repair (creating an eco system), painting, staining, door hanging/framing, book editing, applying stucco, concrete foundations, etc. etc. If you teach yoga or any other wonderful medium, that would be a lovely exchange also!

    Right now, I work full time in the city five days a week. As far as helping times, we are very flexible. Eric is home on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. so if helpers can help Tuesdays and Wednesdays and on any weekend day when I am home, that would be fabulous. We look forward to meeting you and sharing stories! As far as languages, I speak French, Spanish and English. See you soon!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, Spanish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one guest room in the main house, one guest house (a fully equipped RV named Kassandra) and a guest studio in progress (which should be completed by the end of May 2019. The idea is to then add a bathroom with shower and tub to the guest studio by this summer). We also have plenty of place to camp or put a motorized camper.
    There is a fridge and cooking facilities in Kassandra and there will be one in the finished guest studio. Guest helpers are welcome to use the main house kitchen for cooking. We will provide nightly meals in a cozy, candlelit atmosphere :)....we eat all organic/natural healthy foods and are flexible with vegetarian and meat options. When working together and we are off work, then we will provide lunch. Town is 3-5 minutes away and we have bicycles you may use if you'd like to go to the local market or visit local eateries. We have a swimming pool so you will be able to cool off in summers - plus we are located at a higher elevation with cooler AZ temperatures and there are lakes in the area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On time off, there are many places to visit, hike and camp. Southern Arizona has many quaint villages and small towns, eateries, vineyards and several lakes with marinas where you can rent kayaks and paddle boards. We are not far from Kartchner Caverns and Colossal Caves and 40 minutes from the border of Mexico. Phoenix airport is three hours away, and the Flixbus (which costs $5 one way to Tucson) is a convenient, inexpensive way to get to Tucson. If you get to Tucson, we can pick you up (about 45 minutes drive from where we are located in Benson).
    The Amtrak railway station is one mile south of the property. The Amtrak stops in Benson on a direct route between Los Angeles and New Orleans. The closest place to rent a car would be in Tucson.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 3-4 days a week

This is Kassandra. She is a beast - about 600 square feet with hi speed WiFi and Netflix, Hulu and amazon prime. She has a full sized fridge, a full kitchen, a fireplace and a state of the art dry toilet by Nature’s Head. The dining area faces the pond under the cottonwoods. The front is somewhat angled towards the main house, which is about 100 yards away.
View of the pond.
Another view of the pond with the bridge. The bridge leads to a little island. There is a natural spring under the bridge that runs incessantly.
Sunrise over the Dragoon mountains. View from the front porch with morning coffee
View from the front porch at sunset
Eric and me in Paris

Host ref number: 499994191382