Help out in the garden and around our little guesthouse just outside Stirling, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 744 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a lovely Georgian house, outside Stirling, Scotland and would love help with the garden and chopping logs. we run a small bed and breakfast in the summer
    This is an ideal place to be in Scotland as it is very central and within easy access to Edinburgh, Glasgow, and the Highlands

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers, will benefit from learning to live with a local Scottish family and learn about their culture, traditions and food. It is an ideal opportunity to improve their English, as they would be part of the family and we have lots of discussions, especially during meals.
    There are many historical places of interest near by to visit. i.e. Stirling Castle, Bannockburn Battle field and museum, William Wallace Monument, Edinburgh Castle, Linlithgow Palace and many other places

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We have had many volunteers over the years. They are treated as one of the family and I take them on trips to show them the countryside. We work together in the garden. There is always something to do as we have a large garden. Chopping wood is one of the jobs that needs to be done, so there is enough wood for the fires for the winter.
    We have 2 dogs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a lovely cosy bed room in the main house or

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you have your time off there is a bus that goes into Stirling or I can take you to the station so you could go to Edinburgh or elsewhere nearby. There are lots of walks - you could take the dogs - they would love you for ever, if you did! There are also two bikes that can be used.

    There are lots of volunteers in the area through different organisations and I try to introduce them and sometimes get them to dinner with their hosts

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 499691295323